Fiat Yamaha Currently: Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo 2010: Valentino Rossi and ?

MotoGP continues to wait for Jorge Lorenzo's decision. A Honda move was ruled out at Brno, making a new Yamaha contract seem inevitable, only for Ducati to step-in with a late big-money offer for the young Spaniard.

Ducati Marlboro Currently: Casey Stoner and Nicky Hayden 2010: Casey Stoner and ?

Casey Stoner has a contract for 2010, although his main priority at present is returning to full fitness. Ducati has first refusal on the services of Nicky Hayden, and seems keen to keep the American, but much will depend on what Lorenzo decides to do.

Repsol Honda Currently: Dani Pedrosa and Andrea Dovizioso 2010: ? and ?

HRC has reached a 'basic agreement' with both Pedrosa and Dovizioso to stay for the next two years, although no contracts have yet been signed.

Rizla Suzuki Currently: Loris Capirossi and Chris Vermeulen 2010: Alvaro Bautista and ?

Former 125cc world champion and 250GP title contender Alvaro Bautista has signed a two-year contract with Suzuki. Loris Capirossi looks set to join him, leaving no room for the GSV-R's only race winner Chris Vermeulen.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Currently: Colin Edwards and James Toseland 2010: ? and ?

The Tech 3 rides look to be the most hotly contested seats on the grid, with the likes of Ben Spies, Randy de Puniet, Chris Vermeulen, Mika Kallio and Toni Elias - as well as Edwards and Toseland - linked to the team for next season.

As the leading satellite rider, Edwards has the results to justify a new deal, while Toseland must close the gap to his team-mate. No signings are expected until Lorenzo's decision has been made at the factory outfit.

San Carlo Honda Gresini Currently: Toni Elias and Alex de Angelis 2010: Marco Simoncelli and Marco Melandri

The only two-rider team with its full 2010 rider line-up definitely in place is Gresini Honda, which has confirmed the return of Melandri to ride alongside reigning 250cc world champion Simoncelli next season. Melandri claims Simoncelli will have a factory RC212V.

LCR Honda Currently: Randy de Puniet 2010: ?

Randy de Puniet has been one of the most improved riders in 2009 and is currently the leading satellite Honda rider with seventh in the championship. The Frenchman also took his first podium since 2007 with third place at Donington Park.

Lucio Cecchinello will surely be aiming to hold on to de Puniet, although Randy's results this season are likely to open up opportunities at other teams. LCR could expand to a two-rider team.

Hayate Racing Team Currently: Marco Melandri 2010: ?

Despite impressive results with Melandri, Kawasaki won't reverse its decision to leave MotoGP completely at the end of this season and, as such, the Hayate team is not expected to continue either.

Pramac Racing Currently: Mika Kallio and Niccolo Canepa 2010: ? and ?

Ducati looks set to keep Mika Kallio on one of its machines next season, although the young Finn's results during his temporary promotion to the factory team in place of Stoner will go a long way to deciding just what kind of ride he is offered. Lorenzo's decision and Stoner's health will also have an impact on his options.

Fellow rookie Canepa has had a solid, if unspectacular, season and could do with a stand-out performance. Elias could well be among the other options, with his two podiums for Pramac last year well above the best of eighth by Kallio and Canepa so far this year.

Scot Racing Currently: Gabor Talmacsi 2010: ?

Drafted in to the Scot team at Catalunya after starting the year in the 250cc class, Gabor Talmacsi's Hungarian sponsors helped save the Scot team - at the expense of Yuki Takahashi - but other teams might also have an eye on his financial backing for 2010. Meanwhile, Scot's 250cc world championship leader Hiroshi Aoyama should finally make the move to MotoGP next season, presumably on Honda machinery.

Aspar Ducati 2010: Hector Barbera.

125 and 250cc team owner Jorge Martinez 'Aspar' will effectively take over the fifth Ducati entry from Group Francisco Hernando next season. With his present 250GP star Bautista joining Suzuki, Aspar has signed fellow quarter-litre race winner Hector Barbera.