Randy de Puniet has re-signed with the LCR Honda team for the 2010 MotoGP World Championship.

The Frenchman has been one of the big improvers in 2009 and is currently tied with Alex de Angelis for eighth place - and the top satellite Honda rider - with four rounds to go.

de Puniet managed only 61 points during the whole of last season, when he failed to finish five races and was the worst satellite RCV rider with 15th in the final championship standings.

Despite breaking his ankle after round ten of this season, de Puniet has already scored 88 points, with a best finish of third and only one DNF.

"The 2010 season will be my fifth year in the MotoGP class; Honda is working hard to improve the RCV machine and the LCR Team is very professional and they are like a family for me. We have got the potential to make positive results and we will try again!" said de Puniet.

The 28-year-old took his second MotoGP podium, and first since leaving Kawasaki at the end of 2007, with third place in this year's damp British Grand Prix.

The achievement marked LCR's first rostrum finish of the 800cc era, and second ever after a podium by Casey Stoner in the team's debut 2006 MotoGP season.

"We are very happy to work with Randy next year," commented team manager Lucio Cecchinello. "He still has a lot of potential and our aim was to continue the project we started together in MotoGP in 2008.

"Honestly I am very confident of what we can achieve in 2010: we will work with the same style and with the same determination to make a step up in the quality of our organisation and our on-track performances."

de Puniet will now become the longest serving LCR rider, with his five seasons at the team (two in 250cc and three in MotoGP) comparing with four seasons for Stoner and three for Noboru Ueda.

2010 will be LCR team's fifth season in MotoGP, all of which have been spent with Honda machinery.

2010 MotoGP World Championship - confirmed line-up:

1. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha
2. Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha
3. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro
4. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro
5. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda
6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda
7. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki
8. Alvaro Bautista SPA Rizla Suzuki*
9. Marco Melandri ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini
10. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini*
11. Hector Barbera SPA Aspar Ducati*
12. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Ducati
13. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda

* rookie

Colin Edwards has an offer from Tech 3 Yamaha which he is expected to accept


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment