Jorge Lorenzo's victory last time out in Portugal marked the tenth time this year that a Yamaha rider has stood on the top step of the MotoGP podium.

Lorenzo has now won four races this season, while Fiat Yamaha team-mate and title leader Valentino Rossi has won six.

One more win by any M1 rider will equal the most successful year ever for Yamaha in terms of premier-class victories, achieved in 2005.

The all-time record of 15 wins in one year is held by Honda and, with only three rounds remaining in 2009, cannot be broken this season.

Nevertheless, Yamaha riders have won the last four MotoGP races and a further victory this weekend in Australia will equal the longest ever sequence of successive wins for Yamaha, achieved in 2005 and 2008.

But whatever happens in terms of wins, Yamaha looks set to claim all three MotoGP titles in 2009.

Fiat Yamaha has already won the Teams' title, only Rossi and Lorenzo can still mathematically win the Riders' title, while only a point-penalty (for additional engine changes) can deny Yamaha the Constructors' title.

Most victories in the premier-class in one season by manufacturer:

1. 15 wins Honda - 1997 & 2003.
2. 14 wins Honda - 2002.
3. 13 wins Honda - 1996 and 1998.
4. 12 wins Honda - 2001. MV-Agusta - 1972.
5. 11 wins Ducati - 2007. MV-Agusta - 1970. Yamaha - 2005.
6. 10 wins MV Agusta - 1968 & 1969. Yamaha - 2008 & 2009 (so far).


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment