A total of 39 riders will feature on a bumper grid for the inaugural Moto2 World Championship race in Qatar with a variety of riders from grand prix, World Superbike and domestic racing making up the entry list.

The much anticipated series, which takes over from the 250cc class, has attracted a total of 39 riders, 23 teams, 14 constructors and 18 nationalities for what promises to be an exciting first year of competition.

Leading the entry list are the MotoGP exiles, most notably former race winner Toni Elias, who will ride a Moriwaki prepared by Gresini Racing, but also Alex de Angelis, Niccolo Canepa, Gabor Talmacsi and Yuki Takahashi.

Former MotoGP Kawasaki rider Anthony West is also plotting a return to the grand prix scene in 2010, but is currently classified as a reserve rider.

Additionally, Fonsi Nieto, Roberto Rolfo, Claudio Corti and Yannick Guerra all make the move over from the World Superbike paddock, while a large proportion of familiar 250cc riders and 125cc graduates make up the rest of the field.

Of the 14 constructors set to enter, Suter is the most popular option, supplying bikes to a total of 12 riders, while Moriwaki is second with six entries. As well as Gresini, familiar team names also include Tech 3 - who will enter their own bike -, Scot Racing and Pons Racing, all current or former MotoGP teams.

From a British point of view, Scott Redding will fly the flag with the Belgian Marc VDS Racing Team having graduates from the 125cc class.

Full 2010 Moto2 entry list

2. Gabor Talmacsi HUN Speed up Aprilia Speed Up
4. Stefan Bradl GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Suter
5. Joan Olive ESP Jack&Jones by A.Banderas Promoharris
6. Alex Debon ESP Red Bull Ajo Motorsport FTR
7. Axel Pons ESP Pons Racing Pons Kalex
9. Kenny Noyes USA Jack&Jones by A.Banderas Promoharris
10. Fonsi Nieto ESP G22 Holidaygym Moriwaki
12. Thomas Luthi SUI Interwetten Moriwaki Racing Moriwaki
14. Ratthapark Wilairot THA Honda SAG Suter
15. Alex de Angelis SMR Scot Racing Team Scot
16. Jules Cluzel FRA Forward Racing Suter
17. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing RSV
24. Toni Elias ESP Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki
25. Alex Baldolini ITA Caretta Technology Race Dept I.C.P
29. Andrea Iannone ITA Speed up Aprilia Speed Up
35. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3
37 Fabricio Perren ARG Kino Racing Kino
39. Robertino Pietri VEN Italtrans S.T.R Suter
40. Sergio Gadea ESP Pons Racing Pons Kalex
41. Arne Tode GER Racing Team Germany Suter
44. Roberto Rolfo ITA Italtrans S.T.R Suter
45. Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter
48. Shoya Tomizawa JPN Technomag-CIP Suter
52. Lukas Pesek CZE Matteoni C.P. Racing Moriwaki
53. Valentin Debise FRA WTR San Marino Team ADV
55. Hector Faubel ESP Honda SAG Suter
56. Vladimir Leonov RUS Vector Kiefer Racing Suter
59. Niccolo Canepa ITA Scot Racing Team Scot
60. Julian Simon ESP Mapfre Aspar Team RSV
61. Vladimir Ivanov RUS Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki
63. Mike di Meglio FRA Mapfre Aspar Team RSV
71. Claudio Corti ITA Forward Racing Suter
72. Yuki Takahashi JPN Tech 3 Racing Tech 3
75. Mattia Pasini ITA JiR Moto2 TSR
76. Bernat Martinez ESP Blusens BQR BQR-Moto2
77. Dominique Aegerter SUI Technomag-CIP Suter
88. Yannick Guerra ESP G22 Holidaygym Moriwaki
95. Mashel Al Naimi QAT Blusens BQR BQR Moto2


27. Vincent Lonbois BEL Marc VDS Racing Team Suter
TBA. Anthony West AUS MZ Racing Team Mz


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment