American Jason DiSalvo will get the chance to revive his international career after being granted a wild-card entry in the Moto2 class for next weekend's Red Bull Indianapolis GP.

The 26-year-old will ride an FTR M210 backed by GP Tech, under the management of former racer Geoff Maloney is managing the team.

Three home riders will thus compete in the only American Moto2 race of the year: DiSalvo, Roger Lee Hayden - on a wild-card Team Honda/Moriwaki entry managed by 1993 500cc World Champion Kevin Schwantz - and full-time Jack & Jones by Antonio Banderas rider Kenny Noyes.

"It's amazing what Geoff Maloney and the GP Tech team have accomplished in getting everything prepared in such little time, as the help from various people and organizations around the U.S. has been tremendous," DiSalvo said. "I'm excited about being on Indy for the first time and hope to get up to speed fast on the FTR chassis and have a good result come Race Day."

DiSalvo, much like 2006 MotoGP world champion Nicky Hayden, comes from a motorcycle racing family and started his career with a successful stint in flat-track racing on dirt.

He won the 125cc amateur national championship in 1997 before moving to road racing on asphalt in 1998. He won the AMA Horizon Award as the most promising young road racer in America in 1999.

DiSalvo made history in 1999 by competing in the 125cc class at the Rio Grand Prix in Brazil at age 15, the youngest American rider to ever race in a World Championship round. DiSalvo also made a start in the 250cc class at the Dutch TT in 2001.

DiSalvo has been a standout in American Motorcyclist Association Pro Racing since 2002, with five top-three finishes in the season standings in various classes. He finished second in AMA 250GP in 2002, second in AMA Superstock and third in AMA Supersport in 2005, third in AMA Formula Extreme and AMA Superstock in 2006 and third in AMA Superbike in 2008.

This year DiSalvo competed in a partial season with the Triumph team in World Supersport before returning to his roots in WERA competition, where he won the 125cc national championship in 1999.