Casey Stoner's third win of the year at the recent Australian Grand Prix was also his 23rd MotoGP victory.

That moves him above three multi-world champions in the following list of riders with most wins in the premier-class.

Stoner is now just one win behind three-time world champion Wayne Rainey, but still has some way to go to reach the 54 wins of Mick Doohan - the most successful Australian rider of all-time.

However it should be noted, that having just celebrated his 25th birthday, Stoner is still younger than both Doohan and Rainey were at the time of their first grand prix win.

Stoner has taken all his wins since joining Ducati in 2007, the year he won the world championship. Stoner will move to Honda next year.

500cc/MotoGP wins

79 - Valentino Rossi
68 - Giacomo Agostini
54 - Mick Doohan
37 - Mike Hailwood
31 - Eddie Lawson
25 - Kevin Schwantz
24 - Wayne Rainey
23 - Casey Stoner