Nico Terol's bid to go one better in 2011 and win the 125GP World Championship got off to a good start during testing at Valencia as he claimed the fastest at the end of the opening day alongside Sandro Cortese.

The pair shared the top spot on the 'unofficial' timesheets after both being credited with a best lap of 1min 41.0secs.

While Terol is tipped as a title contender this season after finishing second to Marc Marquez in 2010, German racer Cortese suggested he will be a reckoned force too as he posted some impressive times on the Racing Team Germany Honda.

Perhaps the biggest surprise of the test was rookie rider Maverick Vinales, who was just two tenths slower than the leaders and quicker than more experienced team-mate Sergio Gadea. The pair enter this year aboard the distinctive Paris Hilton-endorsed PEV Aprilia.

Miguel Oliveira - second to Vinales in the Spanish championship last year - posted an identical time of 1min 41.8secs to place him ahead of Hector Faubel and Alberto Moncayo. Next up, Johan Zarco led a quartet of Ajo Derbi's ahead of Danny Kent, Efren Vazquez and Jonas Folger.

Elsewhere, ambitious Indian company Mahindra made its track debut with Marcel Schrotter and Danny Webb, the pair 3.8secs and 4.6secs off the pace respectively.

Unofficial lap times supplied by teams (not all riders taking part in test included)

Sandro Cortese Racing Team Germany Honda 1m 41.0secs Nico Terol Aspar Aprilia 1m 41.0secs Maverick Vinales PEV-Blusens-SMX-Paris Hilton Aprilia 1m 41.2secs Sergio Gadea PEV-Blusens-SMX-Paris Hilton Aprilia 1m 41.8secs Miguel Oliveira Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 1m 41.8secs Hector Faubel Aspar Aprilia 1m 42.0secs Alberto Moncayo Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 1m 42.3secs Johan Zarco Ajo Derbi 1m 42.5secs Danny Kent Red Bull Ajo Derbi 1m 42.7secs Efren Vazquez Ajo Derbi 1m 43.0secs Jonas Folger Red Bull Ajo Derbi 1m 43.1secs Ono Hiroki Caretta KTM 1m 44.0secs Taylor Mackenzie Worldwide Race Aprilia 1m 44.8secs Marcel Schrotter Mahindra Racing 1m 44.8secs Simone Grotzkyj Worldwide Race Aprilia 1m 45.0secs Danny Webb Mahindra Racing 1m 45.6secs Daniel Kartheininger Caretta KTM 1m 46.0secs Giulian Pedone Worldwide Race Aprilia 1m 46.5secs


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment