Crash.Net MotoGP News

Moto2: Simón vaults to top of order on day two

11 February 2011

Julián Simón leapt to the head of the Moto2 pecking order on day two of the three-day Valencia test on Friday, as the top ten found themselves covered by a mere eight tenths of a second.

The inaugural Moto2 Championship runner-up lopped a full second off his best effort from the previous day to annex the top spot on the timing screens aboard his Mapfre Aspar machine, as Gresini Racing ace Yuki Takahashi improved by 1.3 seconds to snatch second place, the Japanese rider almost matched by day one joint pace-setter Andrea Iannone.

Thomas Lüthi wound up a close fourth for Interwetten, just ahead of impressive reigning 125cc World Champion Marc Márquez, who continues to adapt well to his new surroundings. Fellow Moto2 rookie Michele Pirro, rising British hope Scott Redding and Simone Corsi all similarly lapped in the 1m 36.6s bracket.

Former MotoGP star Alex de Angelis – the benchmark on the opening day – slipped to ninth position on Friday as he failed to better his time, with Stefan Bradl rounding out the top ten, whilst Crash.net columnist and Moto2 debutant Bradley Smith suffered a fall from his Tech 3 machine, thankfully escaping unscathed.

Unofficial lap times supplied by teams (not all riders taking part in test included):

Julian Simon Mapfre Aspar Suter 1m 36.0secs
Yuki Takahashi Gresini Moriwaki 1m 36.3secs
Andrea Iannone Speed Master Suter 1m 36.3secs
Thomas Luthi Interwetten Suter 1m 36.4secs
Marc Marquez Catalunya Caixa Repsol Suter 1m 36.6secs
Michele Pirro Gresini Moriwaki 1m 36.6secs
Scott Redding Marc VDS Suter 1m 36.6secs
Simone Corsi Ioda Racing Project 1m 36.6secs
Alex de Angelis JiR Motobi 1m 36.8secs
Stefan Bradl Viessmann Kiefer Kalex 1m 36.8secs
Mika Kallio Marc VDS Suter 1m 37.0secs
Jules Cluzel Forward Suter 1m 37.1secs
Randy Krummenacher Switzerland Kiefer Kalex 1m 37.4secs
Rafaelle de Rosa G22 Moriwaki 1m 37.5secs
Yonny Hernandez Blusens STX 1m 37.5secs
Mike DiMeglio Tech 3 1m 37.6secs
Esteve Rabat Blusens STX 1m 37.7secs
Xavi Forés Mapfre Aspar Suter 1m 37.7secs
Claudio Corti Italtrans Suter 1m 37.8secs
Alex Baldolini Forward Racing Suter 1m 37.8secs
Bradley Smith Tech 3 1m 38.0secs
Kev Coghlan Motorsport 69 FTR 1m 38.0secs
Mattia Pasini Ioda Racing Project 1m 38.3secs
Max Neukirchner MZ Racing 1m 38.5secs
Dominque Aegerter Technomag CIP Suter 1m 38.6secs
Santiago Hernández SAG Team FTR 1m 38.6secs
Anthony West MZ Racing 1m 38.8secs
Kenny Noyes Avintia STX FTR 1m 38.9secs
Robertino Pietri Italtrans Suter 1m 39.4secs