Reigning 125cc World Champion Marc M?rquez and promising young British hope Scott Redding concluded this week's pre-season Moto2 test at Valencia in Spain tied atop the timing screens, with three seconds exactly blanketing the 30 riders in attendance.

The evenly-matched pair had similarly set identical lap times the previous day - albeit then for just fifth position - and they wound up three tenths clear of their closest challenger, Friday pace-setter and last year's Moto2 World Championship runner-up Juli?n Sim?n. M?rquez and Redding both improved their times from day two by a second, Sim?n by just a tenth.

Fellow Friday star Yuki Takahashi again showed well to claim fourth, joined in the 1m36s-dead bracket by Thomas L?thi and Stefan Bradl, whilst joint day one pace-setter Andrea Iannone kept up his consistently impressive form in seventh, half a second shy of the benchmark.

Aleix Espargar? posted a time good enough for eighth, with Alex de Angelis and Michele Pirro completing the top ten. Claudio Corti, Simone Corsi, Axel Pons and Mike DiMeglio all got to within a second of the fastest lap, whilst columnist Bradley Smith lopped seven tenths off his own best effort to place 22nd.

Unofficial lap times supplied by teams:

Marc Marquez Catalunya Caixa Repsol Suter 1m 35.6secs Scott Redding Marc VDS Suter 1m 35.6secs Julian Simon Mapfre Aspar Suter 1m 35.9secs Yuki Takahashi Gresini Moriwaki 1m 36.0secs Thomas Luthi Interwetten Suter 1m 36.0secs Stefan Bradl Viessmann Kiefer Kalex 1m 36.0secs Andrea Iannone Speed Master Suter 1m 36.1secs Aleix Espargaro Pons Kalex Pons 1m 36.1secs Alex de Angelis JiR Motobi 1m 36.3secs Michele Pirro Gresini Moriwaki 1m 36.4secs Claudio Corti Italtrans Suter 1m 36.4secs Simone Corsi Ioda Racing Project 1m 36.6secs Axel Pons Pons Kalex Pons 1m 36.6secs Mike DiMeglio Tech 3 1m 36.6secs Jules Cluzel Forward Suter 1m 36.8secs Rafaelle de Rosa G22 Moriwaki 1m 36.9secs Mika Kallio Marc VDS Suter 1m 37.0secs Alex Baldolini Forward Racing Suter 1m 37.0secs Mattia Pasini Ioda Racing Project 1m 37.0secs Randy Krummenacher Switzerland Kiefer Kalex 1m 37.2secs Xavi For?s Mapfre Aspar Suter 1m 37.2secs Bradley Smith Tech 3 1m 37.3secs Kev Coghlan Motorsport 69 FTR 1m 37.5secs Esteve Rabat Blusens STX 1m 37.7secs Max Neukirchner MZ Racing 1m 37.7secs Robertino Pietri Italtrans Suter 1m 37.8secs Santiago Hern?ndez SAG Team FTR 1m 37.9secs Anthony West MZ Racing 1m 38.1secs Kenny Noyes Avintia STX FTR 1m 38.5secs Dominque Aegerter Technomag CIP Suter 1m 38.6secs


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment