MotoGP »

125: Terol claims pole in Qatar

Nico Terol takes pole position for the Qatar 125cc Grand Prix.
The first motorcycle grand prix pole position of the 2011 season has been won by Nico Terol, whose perfect Qatar weekend continued during 125cc qualifying on Saturday night.

Terol, the 2010 title runner-up and winner of last year's Qatar GP, had been quickest by at least 0.931sec during the three practice sessions leading up to qualifying.

That trend looked set to continue when the Bankia Aspar Aprilia star snatched pole by 0.975sec from Sandro Cortese, with six minutes left in the 40-minute session.

But Cortese fought back - and caused a stir by reclaiming pole, by just 0.001sec, with one minute to go. It wasn't to last though, as Terol dipped 0.090sec under the Racing Team Germany rider's best on his very last lap.

125cc and Moto2 have now joined MotoGP in having three-riders per row, and it will be Ajo Derbi's Efren Vasquez who completes Sunday's front row. Vasquez was over one-second slower than Terol.

Row two will consist of Aprilia riders Sergio Gadea, Hector Faubel (Terol's team-mate) and Jonas Folger.

Due to the four-night format, the 125cc warm-up will controversially be held later tonight, with the race on Sunday.

Qualifying - Qatar:

1. Terol (Aprilia) 2m 6.605s
2. Cortese (Aprilia) +0.090s
3. Vasquez (Derbi) +1.046s
4. Gadea (Aprilia) +1.252s
5. Faubel (Aprilia) +1.457s
6. Folger (Aprilia) +1.693s
7. Zarco (Derbi) +1.977s
8. Moncayo (Aprilia) +2.078s
9. Vinales (Aprilia) +2.613s
10. Salom (Aprilia) +2.726s

13. Kent (Aprilia) +3.100s
20. Mackenzie (Aprilia) +3.768s
23. Webb (Mahindra) +4.003s
28. Stafford (Aprilia) +6.774s

Tagged as: moto2 , 125 , Qatar , Aspar , Nico Terol

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Terol, Qatar 125GP 2011
Morbidelli, Dutch Moto2 race 2017
Pasini, Dutch Moto2 2017
Pasini, Dutch Moto2 2017
Luthi, Dutch Moto2 2017
Oliveira, Dutch Moto2 race 2017
Nakagami, Dutch Moto2 2017
Morbidelli, Dutch Moto2 race 2017
Morbidelli, Dutch Moto2 2017
Luthi, Dutch Moto2 2017
Gardner, Dutch Moto2 2017
Syharin, Dutch Moto2 2017
Alex Marquez, Dutch Moto2 race 2017
Morbidelli, Dutch Moto2 race 2017
Bagnaia, Dutch Moto2 2017
Bagnaia, Dutch Moto2 2017
Oliveira, Dutch Moto2 race 2017
Luthi, Dutch Moto2 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.