Marco Simoncelli completed a clean sweep of Friday practice for the German MotoGP at the Sachsenring, after moving ahead of world champion Jorge Lorenzo on his very last lap of the afternoon session.

Lorenzo was just 0.095sec slower than the San Carlo Honda Gresini rider - the Estoril and Mugello winner being the only non-factory RCV rider in the afternoon top five.

Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa, Casey Stoner and Andrea Dovizioso were third to fifth, and all within half-a-second of Simoncelli.

Related Articles

Valentino Rossi - riding with an injured right elbow after joining Stoner, Toni Elias and Pedrosa in crashing at the fast Turn 11 this morning - suffered further misfortune when his Desmosedici GP11.1 stopped out on track just before the midway point of FP2.

The seven-time MotoGP champion, working without crew chief Jerry Burgess for the second race in succession, got back out before the end of the session but finished the day having been just 14th and 12th in the Friday sessions.

While Rossi struggled, team-mate Nicky Hayden - using the older version of the 2011 Desmosedici - led the Ducati challenge. The American, fourth this morning, was sixth in the afternoon, 0.657sec from Simoncelli.

Fellow American Ben Spies was seventh on the second Factory Yamaha with Randy de Puniet - riding at the track where he broke his leg last year - claiming a better than usual eighth, one-second from the top.

de Puniet's team-mate Loris Capirossi aborted his comeback attempt after morning practice and will be replaced by Sylvain Guintoli for the rest of the Sachsenring event.

Full time World Superbike rider Guintoli, competing in his first grand prix since Valencia 2008, finished FP2 17th and last, 3.739sec behind Simoncelli and 1.660sec from 16th placed Elias.

After this morning's crash-fest, two more riders hit the deck this afternoon.

First to falter was Monster Yamaha Tech 3 rookie Cal Crutchlow, followed by Aspar's Hector Barbera at the end of the session. Neither rider was hurt.

Free practice (2):

1. Simoncelli
2. Lorenzo
3. Pedrosa
4. Stoner
5. Dovizioso
6. Hayden
7. Spies
8. de Puniet
9. Bautista
10. Abraham
11. Edwards
12. Rossi
13. Barbera
14. Crutchlow
15. Aoyama
16. Elias
17. Guintoli