Johann Zarco has taken pole position for Sunday's 125cc San Marino Grand Prix after a last lap showdown at Misano.

Zarco was one of three riders under the pole time during the final lap, with championship leader Nico Terol momentarily moving to the top before Zarco snatched it back. Terol was then pushed to third by Aspar Aprilia team-mate Hector Faubel.

It is Zarco's second pole of the year for Ajo Derbi and he starts Sunday's race 26 points behind Terol in the championship.

Sandro Cortese will head row two for Racing Ream Germany, alongside Briton Danny Kent (Ajo Aprilia) and impressive wild-card Miroslav Popov (Ellegi Aprilia).


1. Zarco (Derbi) 1m 43.247s
2. Faubel (Aprilia) +0.193s
3. Terol (Aprilia) +0.357s
4. Cortese (Aprilia) +0.358s
5. Kent (Aprilia) +0.993s
6. Popov (Aprilia) +1.008s
7. Folger (Aprilia) +1.019s
8. Salom (Aprilia) +1.028s
9. Oliveira (Aprilia) +1.080s
10. Vinales (Aprilia) +1.104s

19. Webb (Mahindra) +2.277s
20. Stafford (Aprilia) +2.280s
34. Mackenzie (Aprilia) +5.646s


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment