24-year-old Jorge Lorenzo's recent Misano victory means he is now the second most successful Spanish rider in history, in terms of total grand prix wins.

Prior to the San Marino Grand Prix, three Spanish riders had 37 GP victories to their name in all classes: Jorge Martinez, Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa.

However reigning world champion Lorenzo, already the most successful Spaniard in terms of premier-class wins, still has a long way to go to reach the 90 victories in all classes by Angel Nieto (see list below).

Related Articles

Pedrosa's second place finish at Misano was the 95th time he has stood on the podium in grand prix racing. That is the same number as Mick Doohan, and puts Pedrosa equal ninth on the all-time podium list, which is led by Valentino Rossi (175 podiums in all classes).

Both Doohan and Pedrosa have scored all their podiums with Honda machinery and only Jim Redman, with 98, has had more GP podiums for Honda. All Doohan's podiums were in the premier 500cc class, while Pedrosa's are split 54 (MotoGP), 24 (250cc) and 17 (125cc).

Grand prix wins by Spanish riders
1. Angel Nieto 90 (27 x 50cc, 1 x 80cc, 62 x 125cc)
2. Jorge Lorenzo 38 (4 x 125cc, 17 x 250cc, 17 x MotoGP)
=3. Jorge Martinez 37 (22 x 80cc, 15 x 125cc)
=3. Dani Pedrosa 37 (8 x 125cc, 15 x 250cc, 14 x MotoGP)
5. Alex Criville 20 (5 x 125cc, 15 x 500cc)
6. Ricardo Tormo 19 (15 x 50cc, 4 x 125cc)
7. Toni Elias 17 (2 x 125cc, 7 x 250cc, 7 x Moto2, 1 x MotoGP)
=8. Alvaro Bautista 16 (8 x 125cc, 8 x 250cc)
=8. Marc Marquez 16 (10 x 125cc, 6 x Moto2)
10. Sito Pons 15 (15 x 250cc)