MotoGP »

Official: Speed Master to MotoGP

Official: Speed Master to MotoGP with Anthony West.
The Speed Master team has now officially confirmed that it will step up to MotoGP next season, running an Aprilia-powered CRT bike for Anthony West.

Ex-Factory Kawasaki rider West broke the news of his MotoGP return several days ago via his Facebook page.

The 30-year-old Australian, also a former 250GP and WSS race winner, has spent the last two seasons racing in Moto2 for MZ.

Speed Master's MotoGP chassis constructor is still to be announced.

The team will also continue in the Moto2 class with Andrea Iannone in 2012, but switch from a Suter to FTR chassis.

Iannone has won three races in each Moto2 season (first with Speed UP and then Speed Master) and has finished third in the championship on both occasions.

2012 MotoGP grid - officially announced:

1. Casey Stoner - Repsol Honda
2. Dani Pedrosa - Repsol Honda
3. Jorge Lorenzo - Factory Yamaha
4. Ben Spies - Factory Yamaha
5. Valentino Rossi - Ducati Marlboro
6. Nicky Hayden - Ducati Marlboro
7. Cal Crutchlow - Tech 3 Yamaha
8. Andrea Dovizioso - Tech 3 Yamaha
9. Colin Edwards - Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT)
10. Hector Barbera - Pramac Ducati
11. Karel Abraham - Cardion AB Ducati
12. Alvaro Bautista - San Carlo Honda Gresini
13. Anthony West - Speed Master (?-Aprilia CRT)
14. ? - Gresini Racing (FTR-Honda CRT)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
West, Italian Moto2 2011
Bulega, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Pagliani, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Norrodin, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Fenati, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Bendsneyder, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Crowds, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Pulkkinen, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Fernandez, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Oettl, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Dalla Porta, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
McPhee, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Norrodin, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Bendsneyder, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Martin, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Fernandez, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Pulkkinen, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Kornfeil, Dutch Moto3 race 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


November 16, 2011 10:11 PM
Last Edited 741 days ago

Some people need to realise that Crash's list is nothing like the final grid. There are plenty more signings either likely or imminent that aren't given here, like Bradl to LCR, Pirro to Gresini, Aleix Espargaro to Mapfre Aspar, Hernandez and Silva to BQR, Carmelo Morales to Team Laglisse, Petrucci to IODA Racing, and more besides. There should be a grid of 22-24 riders when all are accounted for. That's much better than last year. Also, as far as the factory machines, you're going to have 10 factory or factory-spec bikes lining up at the start of 2012, and the top 6 will generally come from those factory machines, just as in 2011. So that's no worse, despite Suzuki's withdrawal. I'm just not seeing why all the gloom and doom from some quarters.


November 16, 2011 8:39 PM

To be honest I think Speed Master wants to have someone with MotoGP-experience to sort out the major issues with the bike during 2012 before handing it to their no 1 rider for the future, Iannone.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.