Newly crowned double MotoGP world champion Casey Stoner has beaten F1 runner-up Jenson Button to be voted as the 2011 Racer of the Year, by viewers.

Stoner, the 2007 world champion for Ducati, won his second MotoGP title by showing overwhelming superiority during his debut season for Repsol Honda.

The 26-year-old took ten wins and 16 podiums from the 17 rounds, with his only non-podium caused when he was taken down by Valentino Rossi at Jerez. Stoner finished the season 110 points clear of nearest rival Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) and 122 points clear of the next best RC212V rider, team-mate Andrea Dovizioso.

Stoner won the Racer of the Year vote - the first time fans had been asked to compared competitors from different championships - thanks to an average mark of 8.3 out of 10, compared with 7.9 out of 10 for Button.

Stoner was previously voted winner of the MotoGP poll, but it's worth remembering that all drivers and riders started from zero for the Racer of the Year vote.

Although a distant second to reigning double F1 world champion Sebastian Vettel in 2011, Button's performances for McLaren - three wins, twelve podiums and out-scoring team-mate and fellow former F1 champion Lewis Hamilton by 43 points - had already seen the Englishman named a surprise winner of the 2011 F1 Driver of the Year poll.

Third place in the Racer of the Year vote went to the late Marco Simoncelli, who took his first two podiums (and poles) in MotoGP this season, before tragically losing his life during the 2011 Malaysian Grand Prix.

Simoncelli had been voted second to Stoner in the MotoGP poll and scored 7.8 out of 10 in the Racer of the Year vote.

About the vote:
A brand new feature, in response to your feedback, the 2011 Racer of the Year vote asked viewers to compare 27 top performers across all the leading motorsport championships.

The 27 comprised of the top-three competitors from each of the individual championship votes, carried out after the close of the 2011 racing seasons.

Viewers were asked to award each driver/rider with a score out of ten, the average value of which was used to determine who you thought was 'best of the best' in 2011. Voting, which was open for one week, closed on January 14.'s Racer of the Year - Top 3:

1. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (MotoGP) - 8.3 out of 10
2. Jenson Button GBR Vodafone McLaren Mercedes (F1) - 7.9
3. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (MotoGP) - 7.8

Click here for the full results...


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment