The full 2012 MotoGP grid might not go head-to-head on track until the final pre-season test at Jerez in late March.

That's because, according to, all but one of the new category of privateer Claiming Rule Teams (CRTs) will confine its winter testing programme to Spanish tracks.

With the likely exception of Colin Edwards (Forward Racing Suter-BMW) the CRTs will therefore not go up against the twelve factory-built prototypes during the two Sepang tests, which start in Malaysia on January 31st and February 28th respectively. Both tests last for three days.

Related Articles

Instead reports that the remaining CRTs will test their Superbike-powered 1000cc bikes at Valencia on January 30-31, then Jerez from February 20-22, followed by Aragon from March 8-9.

Testing in Europe will be cheaper for the CRTs than travelling to Malaysia, but more risky in terms of bad weather.

The full 21-rider MotoGP line-up should then take to the track at Jerez from March 23-25, which is the last test prior to the season-opening Qatar Grand Prix on the weekend of April 8.

The CRTs will be allowed extra fuel (24 litres instead of 21) and engine changes (12 instead of 6) relative to the factory-built bikes this season. All machines will weigh at least 153kg, use four-cylinder engines and have a maximum cylinder bore of 81mm.

MSMA manufacturers have the right to purchase the engine of a CRT motorcycle for a fixed price of 20,000 euros, including gearbox/transmission, or 15,000 euros without.

2012 MotoGP (factory-built) riders: Casey Stoner AUS Honda Team Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda Team Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team Alvaro Bautista SPA Honda Gresini Andrea Dovizioso ITA Yamaha Tech 3 Cal Crutchlow GBR Yamaha Tech 3 Hector Barbera SPA Pramac Racing Team Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP

2012 MotoGP CRT riders: Colin Edwards USA Forward Racing (Suter) Danilo Petrucci ITA Ioda Racing Project (Ioda) Anthony West AUS Speed Master (ART) Randy De Puniet FRA Aspar Team MotoGP (ART) Aleix Espargaro SPA Aspar Team MotoGP (ART) Ivan Silva SPA BQR (FTR) Yonny Hernandez COL BQR (FTR) Michele Pirro ITA Honda Gresini (FTR) James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Racing (ART)