The third year of the Moto2 class has attracted a very strong line-up of riders. The main changes in the full time entry list for this year are as follows...

Out from last year have gone: Michele Pirro, Mattia Pasini, Kenny Noyes, Valentin Debise, Robertino Pietri, Aleix Espargaro, Stefan Bradl, Mashel Al Naimi, Jules Cluzel, Santiago Hernandez, Yonny Hernandez, Kenan Sofuoglu, Alex Baldolini and Raffaele De Rosa.

Into the Moto2 class have come: Johann Zarco, Alexander Lundh, Gino Rea, Marco Colandrea, Nico Terol, Toni Elias, Takaaki Nakagami, Roberto Rolfo, Angel Rodriguez, Eric Granado, and Elena Rosell.

The strength in depth of the Moto2 grid can be illustrated by the following stats...

* 17 of the riders on the full-time entry list have previously won grand prix races.
* Between them, these 17 riders have scored 114 world championship race wins.
* 5 of the riders have won the 125cc World Championship, while Elias was the inaugural 2010 Moto2 champion.

The youngest rider in the full-time Moto2 entry list is Eric Granado, who is still just 15 years old and therefore is too young to compete until the sixth event of the year at Silverstone.

At this weekend's opening grand prix of the year the youngest of the fulltime Moto2 riders will be Marco Colandrea, who celebrates his 18th birthday on Friday.

The oldest rider is Rolfo, one of only two riders on the full-time entry list to be over the age of 30 at the opening race of the year, the other being Anthony West.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment