Thursday practice for the season opening Qatar MotoGP also allowed top speeds of the new 1000cc machines and privateer CRTs to be accurately measured for the first time.

According to official timing, there was a massive 48.7km.h between the fastest manufacturer bike and slowest CRT of Danilo Petrucci, whose Ioda-Aprilia was also 13.9km/h slower than any other CRT.

Petrucci, 20th out of the 21 riders in terms of lap time, wrote on his Twitter page @Petrux9: "My best speed 288km/h. [Next] slowest CRT bike 302km/h. Fastest CRT bike 317km/h. Fastest MGP bike 337km/h. Says it all.

"It's a real shame. Our bike goes like a Moto2. I'm so sad, it's really frustrating for me and for the team. We are close with lap time.

"But we are so much far as speed. For me it's the worst situation I could stay, cause the bike is good but without engine is difficult."

Unlike the full Aprilia (ART) MotoGP machine, Ioda has built its own steel trellis chassis to be powered by Aprilia's RSV4 Superbike engine.

The fastest 800cc speed in last year's Qatar event was a 330.2km/h, also by satellite Ducati rider Barbera.

The top Moto2 speed on Thursday was 277.2km/h, set by Mike di Meglio's Speed Up, while a best of 223.0km/h was set by KTM's Arthur Sissis in the new Moto3 class.

Qatar FP1 - Top speeds:

1. Hector Barbera ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 337.2km/h
2. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 336.8
3. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 336.1
4. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) 334.5
5. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 334.3
6. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 334.2
7. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 332.9
8. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 330.9
9. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 330.0
10. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 329.9
11. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 329.2
12. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 326.7
13. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 315.1
14. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 314.0
15. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 311.8
16. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 309.5
17. Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) 307.6
18. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 304.7
19. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 303.7
20. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 302.4
21. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Ioda-Aprilia CRT) 288.5


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment