After leading all three practise sessions at the Losail circuit in Qatar Thomas Luthi once again maintains top spot in qualifying this Saturday.

The Interwetten Paddock rider secured pole with a time of 2'00.187, a mere 0.072 of a second ahead of last years title runner up Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol). Italian Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) completes the front row 0.109s back from Luthi.

Filling the second row will be Pol Espargaro (Pons 40 HP Tuenti) in fourth, followed by Mike Di Meglio(S/Master Speed Up) and Max Neukirchner (Keifer Racing) in fifth and sixth.

Seventh quickest was Esteve Rabat (Pons 40 HP Tuenti) while eighth place was secured by Claudio Corti (Italtrans Racing) who managed to recover from a hand injury as a result of a fall earlier in the session, he was closely followed by team-mate Takaaki Nakagami in ninth. Simone Corsi (Came IodaRacing Project) rounds out the top ten.

British pair Bradley Smith (Tech 3) and Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) occupy twelfth and thirteenth place respectively, still less then a second back on Luthi's time. Countryman, Gino Rea (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) finished the 45 minute session in 27th for his first Moto2 start.

French rider Johann Zarco( JiR Moto2) was another casualty during the qualifying session, crashing in the final stages leaving him in 19th position.

Last ever 125cc championship winner Nicolas Terol (Mapfre Aspar) has so far been unable to translate his speed to the 600cc machine leaving him in 26th. Terol's team-mate and former Moto2 champion Toni Elias starts 17th.

Riders will take to the track for Sunday's race at 9:55 local time.


1. Thomas Luthi (Suter) 2m 0.187s
2. Marc Marquez (Suter) 2m 0.259s
3. Andrea Iannone (Speed Up) 2m 0.296s
4. Pol Espargaro (Kalex) 2m 0.597s
5. Mike Di Meglio (Speed Up) 2m 0.625s
6. Max Neukirchner (Kalex) 2m 0.658s
7. Esteve Rabat (Kalex) 2m 0.793s
8. Claudio Corti (Kalex) 2m 0.874s
9. Takaaki Nakagami (Kalex) 2m 0.898s
10. Simone Corsi (FTR) 2m 0.986s