Moto2 rookie Gino Rea, the only rider to score a point for far this year with the Moriwaki chassis, is delighted that the Gresini team will be switching to a Suter design from this weekend's fourth round at Le Mans.

"I am very pleased that the team have decided to change to the Suter chassis, which I think will prove to be a very positive step for us in the long run," said Rea, a former WSS race winner.

"It is not going to change my fortunes overnight because we have a lot of work to do in terms of adapting my riding style and setting up this new chassis to work with the Showa suspension.

"However, it is the start of something new for us and I think we can start to make progress from here. Obviously I don't know this circuit so that is something else to overcome this weekend but I am very much looking forward to racing at Le Mans for the first time.

"I had some trouble with my knee at Jerez and Estoril so I have let it recover for a few days but now I'm back into hard fitness training. The circuit looks nice, I have done everything possible to learn it, from watching videos to playing it on the Playstation and with the added motivation of a completely new chassis to work with I am really looking forward to it!"

Rea's Moriwaki point was for 15th place in the rain-stopped Jerez race. But despite woeful early season results, the chassis change was a difficult decision for Gresini, which won the inaugural 2010 MotoGP title with Moriwaki and took a further win at last year's Valencia finale on the Japanese design.

Fausto Gresini explained: "We have taken the decision to switch to Suter because our objective is always to improve and give our riders the opportunity to perform to their maximum potential.

"It wasn't an easy decision but it was one we had to take. Now we start a completely new project from scratch and this grand prix will be more like a test but we go into it with belief and determination to give it our maximum."

Rea's team-mate Ratthapark Wilairot will also switch to the Suter, which currently leads the championship in the hands of Marc Marquez.