Crash.Net MotoGP News

All-star line-up for 'Silverstone 200' MotoGP support event

7 June 2012

On-track action at the British MotoGP at Silverstone next weekend will be enhanced by a new support event this year - the 'Silverstone 200'.

The 'Silverstone 200' event format of two 100 kilometre length races is the first time that riders from four different World, British and National Championships have competed head-to-head.

The two races feature a high-calibre rider line-up who, between them, have celebrated four World Championship race wins, five British Championship titles and a further 27 race victories in the British Championship classes.

The open class parameters, allowing any make and model of machinery between 600 and 1200cc, has attracted riders and teams representing seven manufacturers - Aprilia, BMW, Ducati, Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki and Triumph.

The list includes title-winning MCE British Superbike Championship teams Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki, with Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and Stuart Easton, and Samsung Honda's Michael Laverty and Jon Kirkham.

They are joined by fellow BSB riders Gary Mason, Tristan Palmer, Luke Quigley, John Laverty, Florian Marino, Aaron Zanotti and the UK's fastest female, Jenny Tinmouth.

Former British Supersport champion Sam Lowes is on a high following his maiden race win in the World Supersport Championship.

The Englishman's Bogdanka PTR Honda team will be aiming high with Lowes joined by Frenchman Jules Cluzel - winner of the 2010 Moto2 British Grand Prix – as the team utilises the event to obtain track data before the team returns in August for the WSS race.

Reigning Superstock 1000 British Champion Richard Cooper heads up a four-strong Oxford TAG Triumph line-up, alongside team-mate and former British Supermoto champion Christian Iddon.

The entry also includes some of the top teams in the National Superstock Championship. Regular top ten riders include David Johnson, Josh Elliot (both Carbontek BMW) and Lee Costello (Halsall Racing Kawasaki).

The two 16 lap races take place following the MotoG qualifying session and race on Saturday and Sunday respectively, with free practice on Friday and the all-important qualifying practice session on Saturday at 12:05hrs.

Silverstone 200 Entry List:

Stuart Easton Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki (BSB) 1000 Kawasaki
Paul Curran IDAQ.com (STK) 1000 Suzuki
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda (BSB) 1000 Honda
Jenny Tinmouth Hardinge Sorrymate.com (BSB) 1000 Honda
Josh Elliot Carbontek Racing (STK) 1000 BMW
Jon Kirkham Samsung Honda (BSB) 1000 Honda
Sam Lowes Bogdanka PTR Honda (WSS) 600 Honda
John Laverty Splitlath Redmond Racing (BSB) 1000 Aprilla
Jon Waghorn  JW Smart Service/Park Lane BMW (STK) 1000 BMW
Jules Cluzel PTR Honda (WSS) 600 Honda
David Johnson Carbontek Racing (STK) 1000 BMW
Florian Marino Splitlath Redmond Racing (BSB) 1000 Aprilla
Shaun Winfield Oxford TAG Triumph (BSS) 675 Triumph
Tristan Palmer GB Moto (BSB) 1000 Honda
Jonathan Howarth Kawasaki Team Green G&S Racing (STK) 1000 Kawasaki
Lee Costello Halsall Racing Team (STK) 1000 Kawasaki
Gary Winfield Oxford TAG Triumph (BSS) 675 Triumph
Richard Cooper Oxford TAG Triumph (BSS) 675 Triumph
Luke Quigley GB Moto (BSB) 1000 Honda
Joe Burns Joe Burns Racing (STK) 1000 BMW
James East Mackrory Racing (BSS) 600 Kawasaki
Daniel Fowler Fowler Racing (STK) 1000 Honda
Aaron Zanotti A-Plant Suzuki (BSB) 1000 Suzuki
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki (BSB) 1000 Kawasaki
Jonathan Railton INMOTO (STK) 1000 Kawasaki
Simon O'Donnell Simon O'Donnell Racing (STK) 1000 Kawasaki
Luke Stapleford Profile Kawasaki (BSS) 600 Kawasaki
Matt Layt Formwise/Close Bros. Racing (BSS) 675 Triumph
Gary Mason Quattro Plant Kawasaki (BSB) 1000 Kawasaki
Christian Iddon Oxford TAG Triumph (BSS) 675 Triumph
Jamie Poole Watts Ducati (SBK) 1098 Ducati
Stefan Cappella Howard Davies Property Maintenance (STK) 1000 BMW