After being denied pole due to an electronic glitch in qualifying, MotoGP title leader was back on top of timesheets during warm-up for Sunday's Italian Grand Prix at Mugello.

Lorenzo - fastest in every session other than qualifying, when he lost out to fellow Spaniard Dani Pedrosa by 0.139s after being forced to abandon his final run - came within a few hundredths of matching his best qualifying time at Mugello this morning.

Riding in bright and sunny conditions, the Yamaha star concluded the 20-minutes with a hefty 0.462s advantage over Monster Yamaha tech 3 rider Andrea Dovizioso, who will start seventh on the grid but is the best hope the Italians have of a home podium.

Fifth on the grid Casey Stoner was third quickest, but the reigning world champion was still looking far from satisfied with the performance of his Repsol Honda. Team-mate Pedrosa was a fraction behind in fifth with Nicky Hayden the top Ducati rider in fifth.

Honda LCR rookie Stefan Bradl and Dovizioso's team-mate Cal Crutchlow followed, with Lorenzo's team-mate Ben Spies in eighth place.

Less than 0.2s separated Stoner and ninth place Hector Barbera (Pramac), who will start from his first ever front row this afternoon.

Tenth place went to Mugello legend Valentino Rossi, who will have to fight hard to match his sixth place of last season, although he was within 0.86s of Lorenzo.

San Carlo Honda Gresini's Alvaro Bautista is likewise facing a tough race, after three accidents so far this weekend, and was only eleventh this morning (+1.552s).

Randy de Puniet was 0.558s behind Bautista to be the top CRT rider this morning, followed by Speed Master's Mattia Pasini and de Puniet's Aspar team-mate Aleix Espargaro.

Lorenzo, last year's Mugello winner, will start round nine with a 14-point lead over Pedrosa and 20-point advantage over Stoner.


1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Andrea Dovizioso
3. Casey Stoner
4. Dani Pedrosa
5. Nicky Hayden
6. Stefan Bradl
7. Cal Crutchlow
8. Ben Spies
9. Hector Barbera
10. Valentino Rossi
11. Alvaro Bautista
12. Randy De Puniet
13. Mattia Pasini
14. Aleix Espargaro
15. Yonny Hernandez
16. Ivan Silva
17. Michele Pirro
18. Danilo Petrucci
19. Colin Edwards
20. James Ellison


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment