By Lisa Lewis

Pol Espargaro dominated the closing stages of the second Moto2 practice session at Indianapolis, finishing with a fastest ever lap of 1m 43.575s.

Espargaro had set the early pace with his eighth lap on the Pons 40 HP Tuenti (Kalex) with a time that still stood with just five minutes of the session to go, when Marc Marquez then went fastest his fellow Spaniard came back fighting to set the fastest Moto2 time around the Brickyard yet.

Related Articles

Championship leader Marquez, who was also second to Espargaro in the first practice session, found himself over half a second adrift on his CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter, Claudio Corti was third quickest for the Italtrans team (Kalex).

Scott Redding kept himself in the mix all session improving on his ninth in the morning, finishing fourth aboard the Marc VDS, while Nico Terol showed a return to form in fifth for the Mapfre Aspar team.

Swiss rider Dominique Aegerter was sixth for Technomag-CIP while Bradley Smith and his Tech3 Mistral spent much of the session in the pits and finished seventh overall.

Simone Corsi was eighth for the Came IodaRacing Project, Tito Rabat finished ninth for the Pons 40 HP Tuenti team despite sliding out on a fast lap with 18 minutes remaining as his early fast lapping saw him remain high on the time sheets, Andrea Iannone had a quiet session by his standards and completed the top ten for the SpeedMaster team.

Tom Luthi crashed out early in the session on his first flying lap and did not return to the track until there was just 13 minutes of second practice remaining, this contributed to placing his Interwetten-Paddock Suter down in 13th.

Marcel Schrotter finished the session 28th after making the move up to Moto2 with the Desguaces La Torre SAG Team,while Jordi Torres, who replaces Toni Elias in the Mapfre Aspar Moto2 team, was 27th fastest. British rider Gino Rea was 19th for the Federal Oil Gresini team, one place ahead of Forward Racing's Alex De Angelis.

Friday practice 2:

1. Pol Espargaro SPA (Kalex) 1m 43.575s
2. Marc Marquez SPA (Suter) 1m 44.143s
3. Claudio Corti ITA (FTR) 1m 44.469s
4. Scott Redding GBR (Kalex) 1m 44.512s
5. Nicolas Terol SPA (Suter) 1m 44.727s
6. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 1m 44.753s
7. Bradley Smith GBR (Tech 3) 1m 44.772s
8. Simone Corsi ITA (FTR) 1m 44.824s
9. Esteve Rabat SPA (Kalex) 1m 45.077s
10. Andrea Iannone ITA (Speed Up) 1m 45.104s
11. Mika Kallio FIN (Kalex) 1m 45.140s
12. Julian Simon SPA (Suter) 1m 45.160s
13. Thomas Luthi SWI (Suter) 1m 45.204s
14. Ricard Cardus SPA (AJR) 1m 45.234s
15. Takaaki Nakagami JPN (Kalex) 1m 45.236s