By Lisa Lewis

Pol Espargaro took pole position aboard his Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex for the Indianapolis Moto2 race after the qualifying session at the Brickyard on Saturday, while once again smashing the lap record for the class.

Espargaro set the fast lap of 1m 42.602 with over twenty minutes of the session remaining beating the old record by almost one and a half seconds, in the press conference the Spaniard said, "today we did an incredible lap time... when ride here I feel happy and today was incredible the lap time was so good."

Championship leader Marc Marquez was his countryman's big rival for the top spot on the CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter but couldn't find the extra needed despite running the new chassis and swingarm from the Portimao test, along with Tom Luthi and Nico Terol.

Marquez spent the latter part of the session being frustrated and swapping hand gestures with Scott Redding.

A late charge by Andrea Iannone for Speed Master saw him move up to third and complete the front row for Sundays race.

Julian Simon was also fast in the latter stages of qualifying, showing some of his form of old aboard the Blusens Avintia in fourth while Dominique Aegerter who had been quick in practice is fifth for Technomag-CIP.

Briton Redding completes the second row taking sixth for Marc VDS after being shuffled down the order by a glut of quick late laps.

Claudio Corti qualified seventh for Italtrans while Marc VDS rider Mika Kallio is eighth, Tom Luthi placed ninth for the Interwetten-Paddock Suter team while Nico Terol made much more of his new parts placing the Mapfre Aspar Suter tenth.

Bradley Smith struggled to get the Tech3 Mistral to work for him and qualified 14th but ahead of his team mate Xavier Simeon who was 18th. Fellow Brit Gino Rea finished the session 19th for Federal Oil Gresini.

Alex De Angelis missed much of the session after an early crash and his rebuilt Forward Racing FTR wasn't working as well as it had pre-incident but he still managed to work his way back up to 16th.

Marcel Schrotter finished the session 29th after making the jump up from Moto3 to ride for the Desguaces La Torre SAG team (Bimota).


1. Pol Espargaro SPA (Kalex) 1m 42.602s
2. Marc Marquez SPA (Suter) 1m 42.833s
3. Andrea Iannone ITA (Speed Up) 1m 43.064s
4. Julian Simon SPA (Suter) 1m 43.363s
5. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 1m 43.468s
6. Scott Redding GBR (Kalex) 1m 43.548s
7. Claudio Corti ITA (Kalex) 1m 43.607s
8. Mika Kallio FIN (Kalex) 1m 43.637s
9. Thomas Luthi SWI (Suter) 1m 43.646s
10. Nicolas Terol SPA (Suter) 1m 43.684s
11. Takaaki Nakagami JPN (Kalex) 1m 43.698s
12. Simone Corsi ITA (FTR) 1m 43.753s
13. Johann Zarco FRA (MotoBI) 1m 43.979s
14. Bradley Smith GBR (Tech 3) 1m 44.061s
15. Esteve Rabat SPA (Kalex) 1m 44.063s