By Lisa Lewis

Sandro Cortese has taken pole position for the San Marino Moto2 Grand Prix from the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, in the first dry session for the class.

The Red Bull KTM star's fastest time of 1m 44.201s was set while following the Team Italia FMI duo around the track and gave him his sixth pole of the season.

Italian rookie Romano Fenati put his off-track dramas behind him and looked fast all session, qualifying second for Team Italia FMI while Italian rival Niccolo Antonelli, current holder of the Italian Junior title after beating Fenati,completes the front row for San Carlo Gresini.

Danny Kent suffered a crash early in the session after hitting a bump in the track but had his bike repaired and recovered to qualify his Red Bull KTM in Fourth. Luis Salom also makes the second row for RW Racing in fifth with Jonas Folger continuing to reap the rewards of his move to the Aspar team in sixth.

Alessandro Tonucci, Fenati's team mate at Team Italia, qualifies seventh with Zulfahmi Khairuddin in eighth for Air Asia KTM. Miguel Oliveira was solid all session, the Portuguese rider completing the third row of the grid in ninth. Australian Arthur Sissis starts tenth for Red Bull.

Maverick Vinales' session got off to a slow start after an issue with the clutch on the Blusens Avintia, a setback which lead to frequent returns to the pits from which he never really recovered, finishing the session down in 11th.

Louis Rossi was 12th for Racing Team Germany, Hector Faubel 13th for Aspar. South Africa's Brad Binder qualified 14th aboard the RW Racing bike and Efren Vazquez 15th for JHK Laglisse. His team mate Adrian Martin did not set a time after injuring his scaphoid in practice.

British rider Danny Webb qualifies 26th for Mahindra.

None of the riders starting the Moto3 Grand Prix at Misano on Sunday have won at San Marino before, guaranteeing someone a debut win around the circuit.


1. Sandro Cortese GER (KTM) 1m 44.201s
2. Romano Fenati ITA (FTR Honda) 1m 44.571s
3. Niccol? Antonelli ITA (FTR Honda) 1m 44.590s
4. Danny Kent GBR (KTM) 1m 44.843s
5. Luis Salom SPA (Kalex KTM) 1m 44.857s
6. Jonas Folger GER (Kalex KTM) 1m 44.877s
7. Alessandro Tonucci ITA (FTR Honda) 1m 44.909s
8. Zulfahmi Khairuddin MAL (KTM) 1m 45.078s
9. Miguel Oliveira POR (Suter Honda) 1m 45.116s
10. Arthur Sissis AUS (KTM) 1m 45.142s
11. Maverick Vi?ales SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 45.230s
12. Louis Rossi FRA (FTR Honda) 1m 45.259s
13. Hector Faubel SPA (Kalex KTM) 1m 45.260s
14. Brad Binder RSA (Kalex KTM) 1m 45.289s
15. Efren Vazquez SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 45.332s


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment