MotoGP Championship leader Jorge Lorenzo dominated this morning's warm-up session for the San Marino Grand Prix at Misano.

Sunny conditions greeted the 21 riders this morning, after three free practice sessions rendered all but useless by cold and damp weather, then one dry hour of dry qualifying.

Yamaha star Lorenzo, who lost out on pole by just 0.018s to Pedrosa, was fastest for almost the entire 20-minutes - only losing the top spot briefly to Stefan Bradl.

By contrast, Honda mechanics were seen working on the rear of Pedrosa's bike after a big corner exit wobble halfway through the session.

Just tenth fastest with three minutes remaining, Pedrosa slotted into second place - 0.1s from Lorenzo - on his final lap, pushing Ben Spies to third.

Spies fell in qualifying and will start just eighth on the grid.

Cal Crutchlow, who will join Pedrosa and Lorenzo on the front row, was a close fourth fastest (+0.184s) with his Tech 3 Yamaha team-mate Andrea Dovizioso a fraction slower in fifth.

Honda LCR's Bradl eventually finished sixth, having been one of several riders to fall.

Bradl lowsided from his RCV, which then slammed into a tyre wall, while the returning Hector Barbera avoided further injuries after a similar front-end fall from his Pramac Ducati.

Randy de Puniet held on to his Aspar Aprilia, but ran out of gravel trap and fell after striking a tyre wall.

Local star Valentino Rossi was the top Ducati rider in seventh this morning, with Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista eigth and the final rider within one-second of Lorenzo.

Due to the cool conditions, riders elected to run the softer rear tyre this morning.

This afternoon's race will start with Lorenzo holding a 13-point lead over Pedrosa.


1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Ben Spies
4. Cal Crutchlow
5. Andrea Dovizioso
6. Stefan Bradl
7. Valentino Rossi
8. Alvaro Bautista
9. Karel Abraham
10. Randy De Puniet
11. Nicky Hayden
12. Aleix Espargaro
13. Hector Barbera
14. Michele Pirro
15. Jonathan Rea
16. Mattia Pasini
17. Yonny Hernandez
18. James Ellison
19. Colin Edwards
20. Danilo Petrucci
21. David Salom