MotoGP »

Capirossi releases 2013 MotoGP calendar?

Loris Capirossi reveals first version of 2013 MotoGP calendar - no Estoril, all four Spanish venues remain, two events yet to be confirmed, British GP moves to September...
Former MotoGP star and current Safety Advisor Loris Capirossi has posted an image of the provisional 2013 MotoGP calendar on his Twitter page (@LorisCapirossi1).

The present 18-round grand prix line-up has been static since 2010.

From the information leaked by Capirossi, the calendar will potentially expand to 19 events next season, with the loss of the Portuguese round at Estoril countered by two 'To Be Confirmed' (TBC) events early in the year.

These are likely to be the new rounds planned for Argentina and Texas, and being back-to-back the pair would also make geographical sense, although India is among the other outside possibilities.

Perhaps surprisingly, all four Spanish venues are set to remain - although Jerez is 'Subject to Contract' - while the existing US rounds at Laguna Seca and Indianapolis also keep their places.

The most dramatic shift for a continuing event is the movement of the British MotoGP at Silverstone from June 17 (round six) to September 1 (round 13).

Indianapolis-Brno-Silverstone, then Motegi-Sepang-Phillip Island are on successive weekends.

Mugello moves back to a June date, from July, while the order of the three end-of-year flyaways is shuffled, with Japan moved from first to last, making it the penultimate round.

The now traditional start and end events at Qatar and Valencia continue to bookend the season, with the Losail night race one week earlier than this year on March 31. Valencia's date is effectively unchanged.

The summer break, reduced to just two-weekends this year, is pencilled in to last one-week longer, from July 21st to August 18.

The full list of dates and events listed in the image (pictured) are as follows. The official calendar release is expected on Friday:

1. 31 March Qatar* Losail
2. 14 April TBC TBC
3. 21 April TBC TBC
4. 5 May Spain (STC) Jerez
5. 19 May France Le Mans
6. 2 June Italy Mugello
7. 16 June Catalunya Catalunya
8. 29 June Netherlands** Assen
9. 14 July Germany Sachsenring
10. 21st July United States***Laguna Seca
11. 18 August Indianapolis Indianapolis
12. 25 August Czech Republic Brno
13. 1 September Great Britain Silverstone
14. 15 September San Marino Misano
15. 29 September Aragon Aragon
16. 13 October Malaysia Sepang
17. 20 October Australia Phillip Island
18. 27 October Japan Motegi
19. 10 November Valencia Valencia

* Evening race
** Saturday race
*** Only MotoGP class
(STC) = Subject to Contract
TBC = To Be Confirmed

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lorenzo, San Marino MotoGP Race 2012
Loris Capirossi posts provisional 2013 MotoGP calendar (@LorisCapirossi1)
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi and Zarco touch, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi runs wide before Zarco makes contact, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Marquez, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


September 21, 2012 1:54 AM

1. Suzuka 2. Kyalami 3. Portimao 4. Paul Ricard 5. Mugello 6. Catalunya 7. Assen 8. Sachsenring 9. Silverstone 10. Laguna Seca 11. Road America 12. Brno 13. Monza 14. Brands Hatch 15. Sepang 16. Philip Island 17. Sugo 18. Spa Francorchamps. Fixed your post, Loris

Juice - Unregistered

September 21, 2012 12:23 AM

Take out a couple of the Spanish rounds and replace them with Estoril and South Africa. Replace Indy with Texas. TBD should be Argentina and Moscow.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.