MotoGP »

Lorenzo moving up in all-time win list

Jorge Lorenzo moves above Geoff Duke, John Surtees and 'King' Kenny Roberts for all-time 500cc/MotoGP race wins
Jorge Lorenzo's victory in the San Marino Grand Prix was his 23rd in MotoGP, moving him above Geoff Duke, John Surtees and 'King' Kenny Roberts in the following list of premier-class wins.

One more victory will put 2012 title leader Lorenzo level with triple world champion Wayne Rainey who, like Lorenzo, took all of his race wins with Yamaha...

500cc/MotoGP Race Wins:

1. 79 wins - Valentino Rossi (7 premier-class titles).
2. 68 wins - Giacomo Agostini (8 premier-class titles).
3. 54 wins - Mick Doohan (5 premier-class titles).
=4. 37 wins - Mike Hailwood (4 premier-class titles).
=4. 37 wins - Casey Stoner (2 premier-class titles).
6. 31 wins - Eddie Lawson (4 premier-class titles).
7. 25 wins - Kevin Schwantz (1 premier-class title).
8. 24 wins - Wayne Rainey (3 premier-class titles).
9. 23 wins - Jorge Lorenzo (1 premier-class title).
=10. 22 wins - Geoff Duke (4 premier-class titles).
=10. 22 wins - Kenny Roberts (3 premier-class titles).
=10. 22 wins - John Surtees (4 premier-class titles).

Lorenzo's latest victory also marked the 50th win for Spanish riders since the start of the four-stroke MotoGP class in 2002.

Wins by Nations in the MotoGP class (since 2002):

1. Italy – 84 wins (Rossi 66, Capirossi 7, Melandri 5, Biaggi 5, Dovizioso 1)
2. Spain – 50 wins (Lorenzo 23, Pedrosa 18, Gibernau 8, Elias 1)
3. Australia – 39 wins (Stoner 37, Bayliss 1, Vermeulen 1)
4. USA – 4 wins (Hayden 3, Spies 1)
5. Japan/Brazil – 3 wins (Tamada 2, Ukawa 1)/(Barros 3)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lorenzo, Rainey Yamaha Bike, Yamaha 50th Anniversary, Dutch MotoGP 2011
Lorenzo, Rainey Bike, 50th Anniversary, Dutch MotoGP 2011
Smith at Suzuka 8 Hours (pic: Yamaha)
Espargaro at Suzuka 8 Hours (pic: Yamaha)
Smith, Espargaro, Nakasuga celebrate Suzuka win (pic: Yamaha)
Casey Stoner at Suzuka 8 Hours (pic:
Smith, Espargaro, Nakasuga win Suzuka (pic: Yamaha)
Casey Stoner at Suzuka (pic: Musashi)
Pol Espargaro at Suzuka 8 Hours (pic: Yamaha)
Bradley Smith tests for Suzuka (pic: Yamaha)
Pol Espargaro tests for Suzuka (pic: Yamaha)
Pol Espargaro tests for Suzuka (pic: Yamaha)
Smith, Espargaro, Nakasuga ready for Suzuka 8 Hours (pic: Yamaha)
Louis Rossi, German Moto2 race 2015
Rossi, German MotoGP race 2015
Rossi, German MotoGP race 2015
Rossi, German MotoGP race 2015
Lorenzo, German MotoGP race 2015

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


September 27, 2012 12:56 PM
Last Edited 73 days ago

Separated ??@@ Rossi was very lucky in his career? You can be lucky 1 year. He did not fall till 2010.. that s no luck that s BRAINS ,.. Why do you think he refused to drive Ducati the way Stoner did,, that s again BRAINS that is way at 33 is still there , .. brains not LUCK.. and be ready for next year... He may not beat Lorenzo but he certainly will be up there. BRAINS gave him what he has not LUCK....

nom nom - Unregistered

September 27, 2012 12:43 PM

@seperated. Agostini used to win by lapping everyone bar his teammate! Is that a mark of competitiveness in the race series of the time? It is almost impossible to compare era's as in days gone by they raced fewer races per year (in each category) but many raced in more than one category whereas they don't now. All you can say is ANYONE who wins a world championship does so because they earned it, they don't give 'em away.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.