By Lisa Lewis

Jonas Folger has taken pole position in the Moto3 qualifying session at Aragon, in a windy but drying session, constantly under threat of rain. It is the first pole position of his racing career.

The German mastered the first dry session of the weekend to qualify fastest with a time of 2m 01.715, set near the end of the session as the lap times continued to drop in the dry conditions. The Aspar rider was +0.152 quicker than nearest rival Luis Salom, who qualified second for RW Racing despite his morning crash, in which he hurt his collarbone.

Related Articles

Champion-elect Sandro Cortese claimed the final front row spot ahead of Romano Fenati who finished the session fourth. The Team Italia FMI rider missed the final minutes staying in the pits after an ill-timed tyre change.

Danny Kent starts fifth for Red Bull KTM after a late lap moved him up the standings, while Blusens rider Maverick Vinales struggled in the conditions and could only manage sixth, leaving himself a mountain to climb in Sunday's race to keep his championship hopes alive.

Zulfahmi Khairuddin, who had been fastest in the Saturday morning practice session on his AirAsia sponsored KTM qualified on the front of the third row in seventh, while Efren Vazquez starts his FTR Honda from eighth. Miguel Oliveira, who had dominated Friday's wet sessions is ninth on the grid for the Estrella Galicia team. His team mate Alex Rins completes the top ten.

John McPhee, who is replacing the injured Alexis Masbou at Caretta Technology, will start from 27th on his KRP Honda with fellow Brit Danny Webb just behind in 28th for Mahindra.

Louis Rossi qualified 13th for Racing Team Germany (FTR Honda) while wildcard rider Juan Francisco Guevara put in an impressive performance to start from 15th for Wild Wolf BST (FTR Honda).

Luigi Moricano will take no further part in the race weekend after breaking his left arm in the third practice session.


1. Jonas Folger GER (Kalex KTM) 2m 1.715s
2. Luis Salom SPA (Kalex KTM) 2m 1.867s
3. Sandro Cortese GER (KTM) 2m 2.041s
4. Romano Fenati ITA (FTR Honda) 2m 2.202s
5. Danny Kent GBR (KTM) 2m 2.236s
6. Maverick Vi?ales SPA (FTR Honda) 2m 2.362s
7. Zulfahmi Khairuddin MAL (KTM) 2m 2.387s
8. Efren Vazquez SPA (FTR Honda) 2m 2.461s
9. Miguel Oliveira POR (Suter Honda) 2m 2.571s
10. Alex Rins SPA (Suter Honda) 2m 2.763s
11. Niccol? Antonelli ITA (FTR Honda) 2m 2.976s
12. Alberto Moncayo SPA (FTR Honda) 2m 3.012s
13. Louis Rossi FRA (FTR Honda) 2m 3.081s
14. Alessandro Tonucci ITA (FTR Honda) 2m 3.290s
15. Juan Francisco Guevar SPA (FTR Honda) 2m 3.412s