Moto2 World Championship leader Marc Marquez set the fastest Friday time at Motegi after moving ahead of Bradley Smith on his very last lap after the afternoon session.

Suter star Marquez, who holds a 48 point advantage over Pol Espargaro, finished the day just 0.187s ahead of Smith, who recovered superbly after missing most of the morning session after suffering a big fall.

The Tech 3 rider had taken over at the top from fellow Briton Scott Redding with ten minutes to go. Smith had been a short distance behind Espargaro, but proved his pace was genuine by all but matching his best lap time with his final lap of the day.

Related Articles

Long-time leader Redding was nudged to third for Marc VDS, just 0.326s from the top, with Espargaro and Thomas Luthi completing an afternoon top five covered by 0.371s.

Espargaro's Pons team-mate and morning leader Esteve Rabat was sixth in FP2, but fourth on combined times having lapped quicker in the opening session.

Former champion Toni Elias, making his Italtrans/Kalex debut, finished the afternoon in 17th place - having also gone slightly quicker, and one place higher, this morning.

The top 17 riders on combined Friday practice times were all within one-second of Marquez!

Double 2012 race winner Andrea Iannone was beset by technical problems on his way to 25th in FP2 and overall.

Free practice (2):

1. Marc Marquez SPA (Suter) 1m 51.834s
2. Bradley Smith GBR (Tech 3) 1m 52.021s
3. Scott Redding GBR (Kalex) 1m 52.160s
4. Pol Espargaro SPA (Kalex) 1m 52.186s
5. Thomas Luthi SWI (Suter) 1m 52.205s
6. Esteve Rabat SPA (Kalex) 1m 52.247s
7. Nicolas Terol SPA (Suter) 1m 52.294s
8. Takaaki Nakagami JPN (Kalex) 1m 52.344s
9. Julian Simon SPA (Suter) 1m 52.434s
10. Mika Kallio FIN (Kalex) 1m 52.568s
11. Johann Zarco FRA (MotoBI) 1m 52.590s
12. Simone Corsi ITA (FTR) 1m 52.642s
13. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 1m 52.668s
14. Yuki Takahashi JPN (FTR) 1m 52.721s
15. Jordi Torres SPA (Suter) 1m 52.734s
16. Anthony West AUS (Speed Up) 1m 52.831s
17. Toni Elias SPA (Kalex) 1m 52.963s
18. Mike Di Meglio FRA (Kalex) 1m 52.986s
19. Axel Pons SPA (Kalex) 1m 53.149s
20. Alex De Angelis RSM (FTR) 1m 53.168s
21. Gino Rea GBR (Suter) 1m 53.382s
22. Ricard Cardus SPA (AJR) 1m 53.386s
23. Marcel Schrotter GER (Bimota) 1m 53.656s
24. Xavier Simeon BEL (Tech 3) 1m 53.716s
25. Andrea Iannone ITA (Speed Up) 1m 53.719s
26. Ratthapark Wilairot THA (Suter) 1m 53.731s
27. Tomoyoshi Koyama JPN (Suter) 1m 54.139s
28. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA (Speed Up) 1m 54.534s
29. Kohta Nozane JPN (FTR) 1m 54.573s
30. Elena Rosell SPA (Speed Up) 1m 55.251s
31. Eric Granado BRA (MotoBI) 1m 55.305s
32. Jesko Raffin SWI (Kalex) 1m 56.109s