Local wild-card Hafizh Syahrin moved to the top of the Moto2 timesheets early in Friday afternoon practice, which saw Pol Espargaro's morning time remain unbeaten due to rain.

The afternoon began with damp sections of track still present from an earlier storm, with rain then returning just ten minutes into the session.

That kept 18-year-old Syahrin - riding a Petronas-backed FTR and 24th out of 33 riders in the morning - 1.4s clear of next best Axel Pons.

Related Articles

Soaking conditions meant that the rest of the session was spent working on a wet set-up, although the dry early lap times made wet pace hard to gauge.

But it was Espargaro who was fastest on combined practice times, having led the dry morning session by 0.216s from Tech 3's Bradley Smith, with Championship leader Marc Marquez in third.

Marquez was 21st, Espargaro 25nd and Smith 30th in this afternoon's mixed session, which saw Smith limp away from a fall in the final five minutes. Alex de Angelis suffered a fast highside soon after.

Marquez has the first of three chances to wrap-up the 2012 title this weekend. The Suter star is 53 points clear of Espargaro and will be champion if he is at least 50-points ahead by the end of Sunday's race.

Marquez saw his 2011 title chances end on the Friday at Sepang last year, when he fell heavily on an unmarked section of wet track and missed most of winter testing due to double vision issues.

Friday practice (combined):

1. Pol Espargaro SPA (Kalex) 2m 8.015s
2. Bradley Smith GBR (Tech 3) 2m 8.231s
3. Marc Marquez SPA (Suter) 2m 8.348s
4. Esteve Rabat SPA (Kalex) 2m 8.407s
5. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 2m 8.423s
6. Andrea Iannone ITA (Speed Up) 2m 8.458s
7. Nicolas Terol SPA (Suter) 2m 8.467s
8. Thomas Luthi SWI (Suter) 2m 8.503s
9. Takaaki Nakagami JPN (Kalex) 2m 8.523s
10. Simone Corsi ITA (FTR) 2m 8.534s
11. Toni Elias SPA (Kalex) 2m 8.540s
12. Scott Redding GBR (Kalex) 2m 8.635s
13. Julian Simon SPA (Suter) 2m 8.650s
14. Alex De Angelis RSM (FTR) 2m 8.886s
15. Anthony West AUS (Speed Up) 2m 8.980s
16. Mike Di Meglio FRA (Kalex) 2m 9.124s
17. Mika Kallio FIN (Kalex) 2m 9.156s
18. Johann Zarco FRA (MotoBI) 2m 9.161s
19. Jordi Torres SPA (Suter) 2m 9.420s
20. Xavier Simeon BEL (Tech 3) 2m 9.496s
21. Ricard Cardus SPA (AJR) 2m 9.590s
22. Axel Pons SPA (Kalex) 2m 9.628s
23. Gino Rea GBR (Suter) 2m 9.727s
24. Hafizh Syahrin MAL (FTR) 2m 9.760s
25. Marcel Schrotter GER (Bimota) 2m 9.845s
26. Tomoyoshi Koyama JPN (Suter) 2m 10.152s
27. Ratthapark Wilairot THA (Suter) 2m 10.349s
28. Yuki Takahashi JPN (FTR) 2m 10.380s
29. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA (Speed Up) 2m 11.812s
30. Marco Colandrea SWI (FTR) 2m 12.019s
31. Jesko Raffin SWI (Kalex) 2m 13.424s
32. Elena Rosell SPA (Speed Up) 2m 14.073s
33. Eric Granado BRA (MotoBI) 2m 14.607s