By Lisa Lewis

Tuenti Movil HP 40 rider Pol Espargaro has taken pole position at Sepang for the Moto2 World championship race from Malaysia. It is his sixth pole aboard the Kalex this season.

Changeable conditions at the circuit meant few went faster as the session progressed into the closing stages. Espargaro improved his own time at the top to 2m 06.962 on his final lap after leading for most of qualifying.

Related Articles

The Spaniard needs a win to keep the championship alive and said that to win the World Championship now would be a "crazy thing - but we have to believe" during his post qualifying interview.

Scott Redding led the way early on for Marc VDS and starts from second on his Kalex 0.437 behind Espargaro. Championship leader Marc Marquez completes the front row in third for Catalunya Caixa promising to "give 100%" tomorrow on his Repsol sponsored Suter.

Takaaki Nakagami starts an impressive fourth for Italtrans with Johann Zarco fifth on the grid for JIR (Motobi). Completing the second row is Bradley Smith who rode through the pain of two fractured toes on the Tech3 Mistral.

Tito Rabat who qualified and finished third in Japan starts from Seventh for the Pons Tuenti Movil HP 40 team, last years race winner Tom Luthi starts eighth for Interwetten-Paddock Suter with Alex De Angelis lining up next on the grid in ninth for Forward Racing.

Dominique Aegerter's Technomag starts tenth while Andrea Iannone will be hoping to move up from an eleventh place start for Speed Up. Simone Corsi qualified twelfth for Ioda.

Julian Simon had a massive crash as the the flag came out to end the session on his Blusens Avintia but had done enough to qualify 13th while Mike Di Meglio also crashed out on his Kiefer Racing bike and starts 14th. Mkia Kallio occupies the final spot on the fifth row for Marc VDS.

In a session filled with crashes Nico Terol came off his Mapre Aspar at turn eight with 22 minutes to go and took no further part in qualifying as his bike was too badly damaged, Axel Pons suffered the same fate with his Tuenti Movil HP 40 also proving unfixable. They qualify 20th and 17th respectively.

Toni Elias was an early faller, causing his Italtrans Kalex a lot of damage with 35 minutes remaining and despite frantic efforts at repairs did not return to the track. He starts 28th on the grid.

Gino Rea placed 22nd on the grid for Federal Oil Gresini.

Friday practice (2):

1. Pol Espargaro SPA (Kalex) 2m 6.962s
2. Scott Redding GBR (Kalex) 2m 7.399s
3. Marc Marquez SPA (Suter) 2m 7.566s
4. Takaaki Nakagami JPN (Kalex) 2m 7.617s
5. Johann Zarco FRA (MotoBI) 2m 7.672s
6. Bradley Smith GBR (Tech 3) 2m 7.721s
7. Esteve Rabat SPA (Kalex) 2m 7.774s
8. Thomas Luthi SWI (Suter) 2m 7.832s
9. Alex De Angelis RSM (FTR) 2m 7.849s
10. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 2m 7.872s
11. Andrea Iannone ITA (Speed Up) 2m 8.021s
12. Simone Corsi ITA (FTR) 2m 8.225s
13. Julian Simon SPA (Suter) 2m 8.327s
14. Mike Di Meglio FRA (Kalex) 2m 8.417s
15. Mika Kallio FIN (Kalex) 2m 8.599s
16. Ratthapark Wilairot THA (Suter) 2m 8.675s
17. Axel Pons SPA (Kalex) 2m 8.703s
18. Jordi Torres SPA (Suter) 2m 8.705s
19. Anthony West AUS (Speed Up) 2m 8.739s
20. Nicolas Terol SPA (Suter) 2m 8.798s
21. Tomoyoshi Koyama JPN (Suter) 2m 8.906s
22. Gino Rea GBR (Suter) 2m 9.021s
23. Yuki Takahashi JPN (FTR) 2m 9.053s
24. Xavier Simeon BEL (Tech 3) 2m 9.154s
25. Marcel Schrotter GER (Bimota) 2m 9.484s
26. Ricard Cardus SPA (AJR) 2m 9.490s
27. Hafizh Syahrin MAL (FTR) 2m 9.515s
28. Toni Elias SPA (Kalex) 2m 9.606s
29. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA (Speed Up) 2m 10.151s
30. Jesko Raffin SWI (Kalex) 2m 11.227s
31. Elena Rosell SPA (Speed Up) 2m 11.669s
32. Marco Colandrea SWI (FTR) 2m 11.751s
33. Eric Granado BRA (MotoBI) 2m 13.144s