Scottish racer John McPhee has given his burgeoning Moto3 profile a welcome boost after topping second free practice in drying conditions at Valencia.

The 18-year-old was one of a handful of riders to risk slick tyres and a wet weather set-up in the closing stages of a session that began damp and steadily dried, McPhee's gamble paying off as he edged out his team-mate Jack Miller for an unexpected Caretta Technology 1-2.

Prior to McPhee's last minute ascension through the order, Jonas Folger had looked on course for the top spot as he flexed his reputation as a wet weather specialist. However, though he remained one of the fastest of those that persevered with treaded rubber, he would slip to fifth best behind the Caretta duo, Alex Marquez in third and Brad Binder in fourth.

Behind Folger, home favourite Maverick Vinales, who is attempting to wrest the runners-up spot from countryman Luis Salom in the standings, was sixth fastest, well ahead of his rival in 13th.

Podium winner Zulfahmi Khairuddin was also in contention in the slippery conditions before being pushed back to seventh position, ahead of newly-crowned champion Sandro Cortese, Luis Rossi and Danny Kent.

Of the remaining Brits, Danny Webb, who was a surprise pole sitter with Mahindra for the final 125GP race at Valencia last season, was 13th quickest.

1. John Mcphee GBR (KRP Honda) 1m 50.503s
2. Jack Miller AUS (Honda) 1m 50.530s
3. Alex Marquez SPA (Suter Honda) 1m 51.187s
4. Brad Binder RSA (Kalex KTM) 1m 51.193s
5. Jonas Folger GER (Kalex KTM) 1m 51.338s
6. Maverick Vi?ales SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 51.383s
7. Zulfahmi Khairuddin MAL (KTM) 1m 51.710s
8. Sandro Cortese GER (KTM) 1m 51.788s
9. Louis Rossi FRA (FTR Honda) 1m 51.855s
10. Danny Kent GBR (KTM) 1m 52.150s
11. Adrian Martin SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 52.249s
12. Luis Salom SPA (Kalex KTM) 1m 52.345s
13. Danny Webb GBR (Mahindra) 1m 52.501s
14. Miguel Oliveira POR (Suter Honda) 1m 52.513s
15. Arthur Sissis AUS (KTM) 1m 52.674s
16. Jakub Kornfeil CZE (FTR Honda) 1m 52.923s
17. Alan Techer FRA (TSR Honda) 1m 52.936s
18. Efren Vazquez SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 52.943s
19. Hector Faubel SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 52.996s
20. Giulian Pedone SWI (Suter Honda) 1m 53.062s
21. Alessandro Tonucci ITA (FTR Honda) 1m 53.063s
22. Juan Francisco Guevar SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 53.133s
23. Romano Fenati ITA (FTR Honda) 1m 53.205s
24. Niklas Ajo FIN (KTM) 1m 53.469s
25. Alex Rins SPA (Suter Honda) 1m 53.476s
26. Philipp Oettl GER (Kalex KTM) 1m 54.044s
27. Josep Rodriguez SPA (FGR Honda) 1m 54.356s
28. Niccol? Antonelli ITA (FTR Honda) 1m 54.418s
29. Luca Amato GER (Kalex KTM) 1m 54.510s
30. Toni Finsterbusch GER (Honda) 1m 54.659s
31. Luigi Morciano ITA (Ioda) 1m 55.462s
32. Miroslav Popov CZE (Mahindra) 1m 55.609s
33. Kenta Fujii JPN (TSR Honda) 1m 55.878s
34. Isaac Vi?ales SPA (FTR Honda) 1m 55.987s
35. Armando Pontone ITA (Ioda) 1m 56.253s