MotoGP Rider of the Year 2012: 9th Randy de Puniet Your score out of 10: 5.83 (average)

Team: Power Electronics Aspar Bike: ART (CRT) Wins: 0 Podiums: 0 Poles: 0 Fastest Laps: 0 Championship points: 62 (3.4 points per start average) Championship position: 13th

Randy de Puniet joined Colin Edwards as a continuing MotoGP rider making the switch to the new CRT category for 2012 but, unlike the American, was able to enjoy greater success than the previous year.

The Frenchman frequently set the CRT pace in practice and qualifying, often embarrassing the slower manufacturer riders and setting a CRT best of ninth on the grid at Phillip Island - but was less successful in the races.

The title of top CRT rider soon turned into an all-Aspar contest between de Puniet and team-mate Aleix Espargaro, with de Puniet losing out by twelve points.

Nevertheless, de Puniet improved on his 2011 championship ranking at Pramac Ducati by three places and you appreciated his efforts by voting him four places higher than last year's Rider of the Year contest.'s MotoGP Rider of the Year vote 2012:
9. Randy de Puniet 5.83
10. Nicky Hayden 5.67

Your complete ranking, featuring all full-time 2012 MotoGP riders, will be revealed after the winner is announced on December 31.

Do you agree the poll results? Leave your comments below...