Crash.Net MotoGP News

MotoGP Rider of the Year vote: 7th

25 December 2012

MotoGP Rider of the Year 2012:
7th Aleix Espargaro
Your score out of 10: 6.24 (average)

Team: Power Electronics Aspar
Bike: ART (CRT)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Poles: 0
Fastest Laps: 0
Championship points: 74 (4.1 points per start average)
Championship position: 12th

After an indifferent 2011 season in Moto2, Aleix Espargaro may not have been an obvious choice for a MotoGP return, but the Spaniard repaid Aspar's faith by claiming top CRT honours - raising his reputation in the process.

While team-mate and early season CRT favourite Randy de Puniet often held the one-lap advantage, out-qualifying Espargaro 10-8, the Spaniard outscored de Puniet in 12 of the 18 races.

Espargaro eventually took his ART to twelfth in the final championship standings, with an advantage of twelve points over de Puniet.

Highlights included a ninth place at Laguna Seca, eighth in the wet of Sepang and becoming the first CRT rider to lead a MotoGP race by charging to the front in the early laps at the damp Valencia finale.

Espargaro also showed impressive consistency by scoring in all but two races and comfortably secured a contract extension, alongside de Puniet, for 2013.

Seventh place on your 2012 Rider of the Year list makes Espargaro the highest ranked CRT rider in the countdown.

Crash.net's MotoGP Rider of the Year vote 2012:
7. Aleix Espargaro 6.24
8. Alvaro Bautista 6.10
9. Randy de Puniet 5.83
10. Nicky Hayden 5.67

Your complete ranking, featuring all full-time 2012 MotoGP riders, will be revealed after the winner is announced on December 31.

Do you agree the poll results? Leave your comments below...