Crash.Net MotoGP News

MotoGP Rider of the Year vote: 4th

28 December 2012

MotoGP Rider of the Year 2012:
4th Cal Crutchlow
Your score out of 10: 7.60 (average)

Team: Yamaha Tech 3
Bike: YZR-M1 (satellite)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 2
Poles: 0
Fastest Laps: 1
Championship points: 151 (8.4 points per start average)
Championship position: 7th

Having spent much of the 2012 season racing each other wheel-to-wheel, it is perhaps appropriate that an average score of just 0.01 separated Yamaha Tech 3 team-mates Cal Crutchlow and Andrea Dovizioso for fourth place in your Rider of the Year vote.

Unlike in the championship standings, where Dovizioso comfortably had the advantage, this time it was Crutchlow who finished in front - and took top satellite honours on your list.

After a mixed debut season, the Englishman upped his game in 2012.

Particularly impressive in qualifying, claiming seven front-row starts, Crutchlow was soon a podium threat, though it took until the Czech Republic Grand Prix (round 12) to finally secure his maiden rostrum.

That podium - and another third place in Australia - was mixed with five non-scores from the last eight races, causing Crutchlow to slip back to seventh place in the final standings.

Last to sixth place, while riding injured in front of his home fans at Silverstone, was another stand-out moment for Crutchlow, who more than doubled his 2011 points tally and arguably made the biggest step forward of any rider this year.

Crash.net's MotoGP Rider of the Year vote 2012:
4. Cal Crutchlow 7.60
5. Andrea Dovizioso 7.59
6. Stefan Bradl 7.12
7. Aleix Espargaro 6.24
8. Alvaro Bautista 6.10
9. Randy de Puniet 5.83
10. Nicky Hayden 5.67

Your complete ranking, featuring all full-time 2012 MotoGP riders, will be revealed after the winner is announced on December 31.

Do you agree the poll results? Leave your comments below...