MotoGP Rider of the Year 2012: 1st Dani Pedrosa Your score out of 10: 8.86 (average)

Team: Repsol Honda Bike: RC213V (factory) Wins: 7 Podiums: 15 Poles: 5 Fastest Laps: 9 Championship points: 332 (18.4 points per start average) Championship position: 2nd

2012 title runner-up Dani Pedrosa has been voted your MotoGP Rider of the Year!

The Repsol Honda star delivered his best premier-class campaign to date this season, staying injury free and building on a consistent start to win seven races - more than any other rider - and set the fastest lap in nine of the 18 events.

Pedrosa's victories all came in the final eleven rounds as he fought valiantly to bridge the gap to eventual champion and compatriot Jorge Lorenzo. However a collision at Misano and then early fall at Phillip Island ended Pedrosa's hopes of a first premier-class title.

You awarded Pedrosa an impressive average score of 8.86 out of 10 and he thus wins your Rider of the Year vote for the very first time, having been just fifth in last year's poll.

Pedrosa joins previous Rider of the Year winners Casey Stoner (2011), Jorge Lorenzo (2010) and Valentino Rossi (2009, 2008).

Congratulations Dani!

About the vote: Tens of thousands of votes were cast for the 2012 Rider of the Year poll, where viewers were asked to award each of this year's full time MotoGP participants with a mark out of ten.

The average score for each rider was used to determine the final ranking.

The website grew by 20% this year, attracting 6,000,000 unique visitors and close to 100,000,000 page views. A truly global website, most viewers are from the UK, US, Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Netherlands, Ireland, India and Malaysia respectively.'s MotoGP Rider of the Year 2012:
1. Dani Pedrosa 8.86
2. Jorge Lorenzo 8.57
3. Casey Stoner 7.90
4. Cal Crutchlow 7.60
5. Andrea Dovizioso 7.59
6. Stefan Bradl 7.12
7. Aleix Espargaro 6.24
8. Alvaro Bautista 6.10
9. Randy de Puniet 5.83
10. Nicky Hayden 5.67

Do you agree the poll results? Leave your comments below...


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment