MotoGP »

1st: MotoGP Rider of the Year vote

You vote Dani Pedrosa 1st in's MotoGP Rider of the Year poll
MotoGP Rider of the Year 2012:
1st Dani Pedrosa
Your score out of 10: 8.86 (average)

Team: Repsol Honda
Bike: RC213V (factory)
Wins: 7
Podiums: 15
Poles: 5
Fastest Laps: 9
Championship points: 332 (18.4 points per start average)
Championship position: 2nd

2012 title runner-up Dani Pedrosa has been voted your MotoGP Rider of the Year!

The Repsol Honda star delivered his best premier-class campaign to date this season, staying injury free and building on a consistent start to win seven races - more than any other rider - and set the fastest lap in nine of the 18 events.

Pedrosa's victories all came in the final eleven rounds as he fought valiantly to bridge the gap to eventual champion and compatriot Jorge Lorenzo. However a collision at Misano and then early fall at Phillip Island ended Pedrosa's hopes of a first premier-class title.

You awarded Pedrosa an impressive average score of 8.86 out of 10 and he thus wins your Rider of the Year vote for the very first time, having been just fifth in last year's poll.

Pedrosa joins previous Rider of the Year winners Casey Stoner (2011), Jorge Lorenzo (2010) and Valentino Rossi (2009, 2008).

Congratulations Dani!

About the vote: Tens of thousands of votes were cast for the 2012 Rider of the Year poll, where viewers were asked to award each of this year's full time MotoGP participants with a mark out of ten.

The average score for each rider was used to determine the final ranking.

The website grew by 20% this year, attracting 6,000,000 unique visitors and close to 100,000,000 page views. A truly global website, most viewers are from the UK, US, Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Netherlands, Ireland, India and Malaysia respectively.'s MotoGP Rider of the Year 2012:
1. Dani Pedrosa 8.86
2. Jorge Lorenzo 8.57
3. Casey Stoner 7.90
4. Cal Crutchlow 7.60

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Pedrosa, Czech MotoGP 2012
Pedrosa, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Aleix Espargaro, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Pedrosa, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Pedrosa, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Rossi, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Pedrosa, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Pedrosa, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Crutchlow, Qatar MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Qatar MotoGP 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 31, 2012 7:43 AM
Last Edited 1545 days ago

A well deserved (and long awaited) first place for Dani ! But now, the time has come to hit the nail on the head, Pedro ! It is simply the case of now or never for you .


December 31, 2012 6:29 AM

I must admit, the top ten list is the correct list of riders when you consider both their accomplishments AND the skills and levels of competitiveness each demonstrated on bikes of very different quality. Dani and Jorge might be reversed, but they were definitely the top two. Stoner in third is properly placed. Everyone else could be up or down a little but are probably where they belong. The one noticeably absent name which i will not mention, and of whom I am a fan, does not belong on the list this year. Even he would likely admit that and that is one of many reasons he is returning to a more familiar team environment.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.