MotoGP »

Alonso wins’s Racer of the Year vote

The nine winners of's individual championship votes were pitted head-to-head to find your best racer of the year across the breadth of international motorsport...
Fernando Alonso has reclaimed's Racer of the Year honours for F1, after just edging out fellow Spaniard and MotoGP star Dani Pedrosa.

Alonso's victory redresses the balance after MotoGP's Casey Stoner beat F1's Jenson Button to last year's inaugural 'best of the best' vote.

Pedrosa, like Alonso, finished as title runner-up in 2012 and it was notable that the sharp end of this year's Racer of the Year result features three competitors who did not win their respective championships.

Also notable was that Alonso's rating of 7.8 out of ten – as voted by readers – would not have beaten either Stoner or Button in last year's poll...

Alonso, however, becomes the second winner of the award, with World Superbikes runner-up Tom Sykes completing the podium after squeezing WRC king Sebastian Loeb - the highest ranked 2012 champion - out of a tightly-packed top three.

Loeb was comfortably ahead of the next contender, BSB champion Shane Byrne, while BTCC champion Gordon Shedden headed Ryan Hunter-Reay (IndyCar), Luiz Razia (GP2) and Brad Keselowski (NASCAR) in the remainder of the rankings after this year's poll took into account just the winners of the respective series votes.

About the vote:
Now in its second year, the 2012 Racer of the Year vote asked viewers to compare nine top performers across the leading motorsport championships.

The group comprised the winners from each of the individual championship votes, carried out after the close of the 2012 racing seasons.

Viewers were asked to award each driver/rider with a score out of ten, the average value of which was used to determine who you thought was 'best of the best' in 2012. Voting, which was open for one week, closed on January 14.'s Racer of the Year - Top 3:

1. Fernando Alonso ESP Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro (F1) - 7.8 out of 10
2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (MotoGP) - 7.7
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki (WSBK) - 7.6

Click here for the full results...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
24.06.2012- Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) Scuderia Ferrari F2012 race winner
Repsol chairman Antonio Brufau with Marc and Alex Marquez (pic: Repsol)
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Jack Miller - CWM LCR Honda
Enea Bastianini makes Honda debut (pic: Gresini)
Maria Herrera tests Calvo KTM (pic: Repsol)
Fabio Quartararo prepares for rookie Moto3 season (Repsol)
Enea Bastianini makes Honda debut (pic: Gresini)
Marc and Alex Marquez celebrate titles in home town (pic: Repsol)
Pedrosa, Valencia MotoGP test, November 2014
Pedrosa, Valencia MotoGP test, November 2014
Pedrosa, Valencia MotoGP test, November 2014
Pedrosa, Valencia MotoGP test, November 2014
Pedrosa, Valencia MotoGP test, November 2014

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

MiniMoto - Unregistered

January 18, 2013 9:31 AM

Are we talking racer or iterpretation of the rules that allow us to win racers? A well deserved season victory or unless you allow us to this were not playing. Skill, driving,performance all in doubt Absolute B****x

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.