This weekend will see the Circuit of the Americas (COTA) become only the fourth American venue to host a motorcycle grand prix.

A brief history of MotoGP in the USA is as follows:

*The first two US Grands Prix were held in 1964 and 1965 at the famous Daytona circuit, on the same weekend as the Daytona 200.

* After a 22-year break, motorcycle grand prix returned to the USA in 1988 at Laguna Seca and ran through to 1994 with the exception of 1992.

* After an absence of ten years, the sport returned to Laguna Seca in 2005, albeit featuring just the premier MotoGP class.

* Indianapolis then made its motorcycle grand prix debut in 2008. Since then there have been two MotoGP events each year in the USA.

* The addition of COTA, alongside Laguna Seca and Indianapolis, means the USA becomes only the second country, after Spain, to host three or more MotoGP events in the same year.

* In total there have been 21 previous grand prix events in the USA; Daytona 2, Laguna Seca 14 and Indianapolis 5.

* Newly retired double champion Casey Stoner has taken the most US grand prix victories: three MotoGP wins at Laguna Seca and one at Indianapolis. Two riders could equal this total on Sunday: Dani Pedrosa, who has two MotoGP victories at Indianapolis and one at Laguna Seca, and Nico Terol who won the 125cc race at Indianapolis on three occasions.