Dani Pedrosa led the Sunday morning warm-up session ahead of the inaugural Circuit of the Americas MotoGP at Austin, Texas.

The Repsol Honda rider, who will start second on the grid just behind rookie team-mate Marc Marquez, set the pace by just 0.017s over Yamaha Tech 3 rider Cal Crutchlow. It was the second track session Pedrosa has led this weekend, Marquez being quickest in all the others.

Factory Yamaha's world champion Jorge Lorenzo was one tenth further back in third with Marquez - the youngest rider to take a MotoGP pole on Saturday and fighting to become the youngest race winner this afternoon - a close fourth (+0.263s).

Related Articles

Marquez had a near miss when passing a slow Bryan Staring.

Due to the cooler morning conditions, the softer rear tyres were used throughout and, for the first time this weekend, the fastest lap was not the best lap of the event so far. Pedrosa's warm-up time was 1.3s slower than Marquez's pole time.

Bucking the trend was sixth quickest Valentino Rossi, who beat his eighth place qualifying time by 0.3s this morning, suggesting improvements to the braking issues he has suffered with his Factory Yamaha.

In terms of tyre choice for the race, Bridgestone's Masao Azuma - a former ten time 125cc grand prix winner - predicts "front tyre choice will be split between the harder and softer slick options while for the rear, the softer slick options seem to be preferred at this stage."

Austin is the first event where the CRT riders have a softer specification rear tyre relative to the manufacturer riders. CRT rear tyre choice is soft and medium, while manufacturer riders have medium and hard compounds.

Cardion AB's Karel Abraham will not start the race after breaking his collarbone in qualifying, while wild-card Mike Barnes did not make the 107% lap time.

1. Dani Pedrosa
2. Cal Crutchlow
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Marc Marquez
5. Stefan Bradl
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Andrea Dovizioso
8. Nicky Hayden
9. Andrea Iannone
10. Aleix Espargaro
11. Alvaro Bautista
12. Ben Spies
13. Bradley Smith
14. Yonny Hernandez
15. Randy De Puniet
16. Hector Barbera
17. Claudio Corti
18. Hiroshi Aoyama
19. Danilo Petrucci
20. Michael Laverty
21. Colin Edwards
22. Bryan Staring
23. Lukas Pesek
24. Blake Young