MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo returned to the top of the Jerez timesheets during the 30-minute final free practice session for the Spanish MotoGP.

Home hero Lorenzo posted his best lap of the weekend in the opening minutes - joining morning pace setter Cal Crutchlow in breaking the 1m 39s barrier - and remained ahead thereafter.

Meanwhile Crutchlow was one of two favourites to hit the deck in quick succession.

Related Articles

Rookie race winner Marc Marquez was first to go, his Repsol Honda becoming unsettled on entry to the hairpin and the young Spaniard then falling when the rear span around on the exit.

While Marquez was remounting, FP3 leader Crutchlow suffered a much faster accident when he lost the front of his Tech 3 Yamaha through the long, turn five right-hander. The Englishman took a scooter back to the paddock and later returned on his spare Tech 3 Yamaha, but did not improve.

That allowed Marquez's team-mate Dani Pedrosa to edge ahead of Crutchlow and into second place, 0.298s from Lorenzo. Marquez moved into fourth, but 0.846s from Lorenzo, whose factory Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi was over one-second from the top.

Rookie Andrea Iannone was again the top Ducati in sixth place fro Pramac, but suffered a painful end to the session. The Italian needed assistance from marshals to to walk away after a fall at the final turn - the corner now renamed after Lorenzo, who celebrates his 26th birthday today.

The first part of qualifying will now get underway, where those outside the top ten after FP3 will fight for the last two places in the Q2 pole position shootout. Both the Q1 and Q2 sessions are 15-minutes long.

Stefan Bradl and Bradley Smith, plus Ducati wild-card Michele Pirro, are the manufacturer riders joining the CRT competitors in Q1. Avintia's Hector Barbera is the only CRT rider so far through to Q2.

The start of FP4 was delayed by five minutes due to unspecified 'track conditions'.

Free practice (4):
1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Cal Crutchlow
4. Marc Marquez
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Andrea Iannone
7. Alvaro Bautista
8. Andrea Dovizioso
9. Nicky Hayden
10. Aleix Espargaro
11. Hiroshi Aoyama
12. Michele Pirro
13. Stefan Bradl
14. Hector Barbera
15. Bradley Smith
16. Randy De Puniet
17. Lukas Pesek
18. Claudio Corti
19. Colin Edwards
20. Danilo Petrucci
21. Bryan Staring
22. Michael Laverty
23. Yonny Hernandez