Crash.Net MotoGP News

MotoGP Le Mans: Nine races, nine (Spanish) winners

15 May 2013

The nine races so far held in this year's MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3 World Championships have produced nine different winners...

...And they have all been Spanish:

Round 1 - Losail:
MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo
Moto2: Pol Espargaro
Moto3: Luis Salom

Round 2 - Austin:
MotoGP: Marc Marquez
Moto2: Nicolas Terol
Moto3: Alex Rins

Round 3 - Jerez:
MotoGP: Dani Pedrosa
Moto2: Esteve Rabat
Moto3: Maverick Vinales

Only once before in the 65-year history of motorcycle grand prix has the championship arrived at round four without a repeat winner in those equivalent classes (125cc/Moto3, 250cc/Moto2 and 500cc/MotoGP).

That occurred back in 1951 when the winners were are follows:

500cc: Umberto Masetti, Fergus Anderson and Geoff Duke.
250cc: Dario Ambrosini, Tommy Wood and Bruno Ruffo.
125cc: Guido Leoni, Cromie McCandless and Gianni Leoni.

Of the nine podiums this season, four have been filled entirely by Spanish riders: MotoGP at Austin and Jerez, plus Moto3 at Losail and Austin. In total, Spaniards have accounted for 21 out of the 27 rostrum riders so far in 2013.