o This is the 83rd time that a Dutch TT event has been held. The first running of the Dutch TT was in 1925 and before the World Championship series was created; it has taken place every year since, with the exception of the years 1940 to 1945 because of the Second World War.

o The event became part of the World Championship series when it was first created in 1949 and is the only circuit to have been part of the series every year since, making this the 65th Dutch TT that has counted towards the World Championship.

o The original Assen circuit, that was used up to 1954, measured 16.5 km. This was reduced to 7.7 km in 1955 and then in 1984 further modifications to the circuit reduced the length to 6.1 km. The current layout has been used since 2006, with a few minor adjustments.

o There have been a total of 250 Grand Prix races for solo motorcycles held at the Assen circuit.

o Yamaha are the most successful manufacturer at the Dutch TT since the start of the four-stroke MotoGP formula, with six victories. Honda have had four MotoGP wins at the Dutch TT and Ducati a single win in 2008.

o Four times in the last five years the rider qualifying on pole for the MotoGP race at Assen has gone on to win the race - the only exception was Ben Spies in 2011 who won from second place on the grid.

o Spies' win at the Dutch TT in 2011 was the only Grand Prix win during the three-year period of 2010 to 2012 that was not by one of the following: Casey Stoner, Valentino Rossi, Dani Pedrosa or Jorge Lorenzo.

o The rider with most GP victories at Assen is Angel Nieto with 15 wins in the 125 and 50 classes, followed by Giacomo Agostini who had 14 wins riding 500 and 350 machines.

o Among the current riders, Valentino Rossi has been most successful at Assen with a total of seven victories: five in MotoGP and one each in the 250 and 125 classes.

o Four Dutch riders have won Grand Prix races at their home circuit; Paul Lodewijkx with the 50 race in 1968, Wil Hartog the 500 race in 1977, Jack Middelburg the 500 race in 1980 and Hans Spaan the 125 race in 1989.

Cheaper than you think? CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment