MotoGP riders Cal Crutchlow, Alvaro Bautista, Stefan Bradl and Hector Barbera, plus Moto2 representatives Tito Rabat and Nico Terol, have arrived in Argentina ahead of this week's debut test at the brand-new Termas de Rio Hondo circuit.

The circuit plans to host its first MotoGP race next season - and the first for Argentina since 1999 - having been denied a place on the 2013 calendar due to a Spanish government travel warning for Repsol staff, subsequently lifted.

The two-day test at the circuit, situated 1,100km north-west of Buenos Aires, will take place on Thursday and Friday, prior to which a press conference was held Buenos Aires' Hotel NH City.

Related Articles

"It will be great to get there and finally try it out," said Monster Yamaha Tech 3's Crutchlow, currently fourth in the world championship and the highest ranked rider attending the test. "Then we can go back and tell the other riders what we thought of the place.

"From what we have seen, I don't think any improvements will need to be made because it looks like a fantastic facility and circuit, so we are looking forward to going and hopefully we can have two good days riding around the track to also give them some important information."

"We will start with this official test and maybe next year have a GP here in Argentina," added Honda Gresini's Bautista, having witnessed the official presentation. "It will be very interesting to see the new track; the corners, the asphalt and also the [level of] safety, which will be very important."

LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl believes the tyres will face a tough workout.

"The layout of the circuit looks really fast. That can be really busy for the tyres because we will be on the edge, accelerating really hard for a long time.

"I can see some really fast corners, so I'm looking forward to seeing it and then testing on Thursday to get as much information as possible for next year. Probably one of the most important things is that we will be able to find out how the tyres will work."

This week's two-day test will run from 10am-5pm local time (GMT -3) on both Thursday and Friday, including a one-hour break during the day.