Marc Marquez, Dani Pedrosa and Stefan Bradl completed an all-Honda top three, as lap times tumbled during Friday's second practice at Indianapolis.

While rookie championship leader Marquez was ultimately able to repeat his morning top spot, he faced pressure from healing title rivals Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo.

The trio exchanged first place from the eighth minute onwards, with Pedrosa - a cautious seventh this morning - finishing just 0.080s from Repsol Honda team-mate Marquez.

Related Articles

Yamaha's Lorenzo, also recovering from collarbone injuries sustained prior to the summer break, was quickest at the halfway stage and in the top three thereafter - until being bumped to fourth in the final minute, by Bradl.

Bradl had fallen from his LCR Honda early in the session, which was red-flagged shortly after to retrieve a marker cone displaced at the end of the main straight.

Reigning champion Lorenzo concluded day one as the first of three M1 riders in a row, with Cal Crutchlow and Valentino Rossi directly behind him on the timesheets. Tech 3's Crutchlow was just 0.311s from Marquez, with Rossi - who ran off track in the final minute - 0.582s adrift.

Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista, Tech 3 rookie Bradley Smith and Ducati team-mates Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden completed the top ten.

Ben Spies, aiming to start his first MotoGP race since round two in Texas, slipped from 11th to 13th this afternoon - behind the top CRTs of Aspar's Aleix Espargaro and Ioda's Danilo Petrucci - despite slightly reducing the gap to Marquez to 1.6s. Pramac Ducati team-mate Andrea Iannone, also returning from a shoulder injury, was 14th.

Marquez beat his FP1 time by 1.3s this afternoon, as the rarely used Indianapolis infield circuit began to unleash grip. The Spaniard, winner at Indy for the past two seasons in Moto2, was 0.4s from Pedrosa's 2012 race lap record.

Cardion AB's Karel Abraham was declared fit to continue after his heavy morning highside and finished 22nd out of the 25 riders.

Free practice (2):
1. Marc Marquez
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Stefan Bradl
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Cal Crutchlow
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Alvaro Bautista
8. Bradley Smith
9. Nicky Hayden
10. Andrea Dovizioso
11. Aleix Espargaro
12. Danilo Petrucci
13. Ben Spies
14. Andrea Iannone
15. Claudio Corti
16. Colin Edwards
17. Hector Barbera
18. Randy De Puniet
19. Yonny Hernandez
20. Hiroshi Aoyama
21. Lukas Pesek
22. Karel Abraham
23. Bryan Staring
24. Michael Laverty
25. Blake Young

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.