Rookie MotoGP title leader Marc Marquez will go into this afternoon's Indianapolis race having been fastest in every session this weekend, having kept command during this morning's warm-up.

The Repsol Honda star, bidding for his fourth win of the season and a sweep of the three US based events, took over from Jorge Lorenzo after seven of the 20 minutes.

Marquez then improved his best time on three further occasions, culminating in a 1m 38.776s on his final lap.

Related Articles

That put the 20-year-old 0.309s clear of nearest rival Cal Crutchlow. The Monster Yamaha Tech 3 star - who will start fourth on the grid - was seen waving his fist after threading through slow moving riders before getting a clear lap in.

Marquez heads into the race holding a 16 point advantage over team-mate Dani Pedrosa and 26 point lead over Factory Yamaha's Lorenzo, both of whom will join Marquez on the front row of the grid.

Pedrosa spent much of the warm-up session at the lower end of the top ten, before popping into third place - just ahead of Lorenzo - on his penultimate lap.

Rear tyre choice for the race is still a question mark for some, but the cooler morning conditions meant the softer rear was used to set the fastest lap times this morning.

While the top four were covered by 0.4s, a further 0.4s separated Lorenzo from fifth fastest Stefan Bradl (Honda LCR), with Valentino Rossi in sixth place and the final rider within one-second of Marquez.

Alvaro Bautista (Gresini Honda), Bradley Smith (Tech 3), Nicky Hayden (Ducati) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) completed the top ten, with the lone Pramac Ducati of Andrea Iannone eleventh and Aleix Espargaro the leading CRT in twelfth.

Iannone's team-mate Ben Spies has withdrawn after dislocating his left shoulder in Saturday morning practice.

American Blake Young, making his third and final wild-card appearance of the year, suffered an engine failure on his Attack Performance Kawasaki at the end of the main straight. Young is due to start 24th and last.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Cal Crutchlow
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Stefan Bradl
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Alvaro Bautista
8. Bradley Smith
9. Nicky Hayden
10. Andrea Dovizioso
11. Andrea Iannone
12. Aleix Espargaro
13. Claudio Corti
14. Hiroshi Aoyama
15. Colin Edwards
16. Danilo Petrucci
17. Yonny Hernandez
18. Randy De Puniet
19. Michael Laverty
20. Lukas Pesek
21. Hector Barbera
22. Bryan Staring
23. Karel Abraham
24. Blake Young