Jorge Lorenzo posted his fastest lap of the weekend, outside of qualifying, to end morning warm-up for the San Marino MotoGP with a massive 0.706s advantage over nearest rival Marc Marquez.

Rookie title leader Marquez had been fastest throughout practice and qualifying - including a record breaking pole, by over half-a-second from Lorenzo.

But Marquez ended the session on the back of a scooter after a lowside fall - his second spill of the weekend - after losing the front at turn 10.

Related Articles

Fortunately, unlike last time at Silverstone, Marquez was not injured in his latest warm-up tumble, but clearly frustrated to have made the mistake.

Lorenzo - who was also quicker than his own official race lap record - and factory Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi have seen their hopes boosted by the new seamless shift gearbox this weekend. However the Spaniard had planned last-gasp set-up changes for warm-up in order to help with braking and rear traction after 'struggling' in qualifying.

Third fastest in warm-up was Marquez's Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa (+0.844s), who will start from fourth on the grid, with front row starter Rossi and Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista the final riders within one-second of Lorenzo.

Cal Crutchlow (Tech 3 Yamaha) and Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda) filled places sixth and seventh, with Nicky Hayden getting the better of team-mate Andrea Dovizioso to be the leading Ducati.

Aspar CRT star Aleix Espargaro, who secured an excellent second row start in qualifying, completed the top ten.

Marquez currently holds a 30 point lead over Pedrosa and 39 point lead over Lorenzo, who has won at Misano for the last two years.

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Alvaro Bautista
6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Stefan Bradl
8. Nicky Hayden
9. Andrea Dovizioso
10. Aleix Espargaro
11. Andrea Iannone
12. Michele Pirro
13. Bradley Smith
14. Hector Barbera
15. Hiroshi Aoyama
16. Colin Edwards
17. Danilo Petrucci
18. Claudio Corti
19. Randy De Puniet
20. Yonny Hernandez
21. Karel Abraham
22. Bryan Staring
23. Michael Laverty
Lukas Pesek