Reigning MotoGP champion Jorge Lorenzo snatched the top spot from rookie title leader Marc Marquez by just 0.008s on his final lap of morning practice at Aragon.

Lorenzo, winner of the last two races and fastest in June's private Aragon test, had been fastest at the halfway stage of the 45-minutes before Marquez put his Repsol Honda ahead.

Lorenzo - visibly unhappy earlier in the session - then saved his best for last by posting a 1m 49.753s on his 17th and final lap.

Related Articles

But there is plenty of room for further improvement with the race lap record a 1m 49.0s and Lorenzo setting a 1m 48.0s in the Aragon test, attended by Honda and the Factory Yamaha team. Yamaha has never won at Aragon, which joined the MotoGP calendar in 2010.

Marquez, seeking his first home Spanish MotoGP win at his third attempt, holds a 34-point advantage over countrymen Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa with five rounds to go. Team-mate Pedrosa was just 0.195s from the top in third, with Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista best of the rest in fourth (+0.466s).

Lorenzo's Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi was fifth quickest (+0.746s), having waved an apology to countryman Andrea Iannone after a close moment earlier in the session. LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl and Yamaha Tech 3's Cal Crutchlow (+0.822s) the final riders within one-second of Marquez.

Crutchlow was the fastest rider not to have attended the June test.

Ducati team-mates Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden, plus Crutchlow's rookie team-mate Bradley Smith completed the top ten.

Yonny Hernandez has joined Pramac Ducati in place of the injured Ben Spies from this weekend, with Damian Cudlin taking over from Hernandez at PBM and World Supersport-ace Luca Scassa replacing the injured Karel Abraham at Cardion AB.

Hernandez - who rode the Desmosedici in the Misano post-race test - was 18th quickest, with Scassa - who has raced at the circuit in WSS - 20th, Laverty 21st and Cudlin 24th.

Free Practice 1:
1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Alvaro Bautista
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Stefan Bradl
7. Cal Crutchlow
8. Andrea Dovizioso
9. Nicky Hayden
10. Bradley Smith
11. Andrea Iannone
12. Aleix Espargaro
13. Hiroshi Aoyama
14. Hector Barbera
15. Claudio Corti
16. Danilo Petrucci
17. Colin Edwards
18. Yonny Hernandez
19. Randy De Puniet
20. Luca Scassa
21. Michael Laverty
22. Bryan Staring
23. Lukas Pesek
24. Damian Cudlin