Valentino Rossi set the fastest lap time during a damp Free Practice 3 for the Aragon MotoGP on Saturday morning.

Most riders remained in the pits until the final ten minutes while the likes of Marc Marquez, Dani Pedrosa, Jorge Lorenzo and Cal Crutchlow did not record a lap time - only taking to the track to perform a practice start after the chequered flag.

Rossi at least did six laps on the drying track, following overnight rain, the best of which was 1.477s slower than Marquez's pace-setting Friday time and half-a-second from the Italian's own FP2 best.

Related Articles

Rossi had struggled with technical issues and a lack of grip on his way to seventh on Friday, but the seven time MotoGP champion finished the Saturday morning session 0.539s ahead of next fastest Alvaro Bautista (Gresini Honda), with Ducati's Nicky Hayden one-second from Rossi in third.

Aleix Espargaro (Aspar), Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Yamaha) and Hiroshi Aoyama (FTR-Kawasaki) completed the top six.

Luca Scassa, Claudio Corti, Aoyama and Smith were the only riders to record at least ten laps this morning.

Rookie MotoGP title leader Marquez was fastest by 0.132s from Stefan Bradl on Friday, with Marquez's nearest title rivals Pedrosa and Lorenzo third and fourth. Marquez holds a 34-point advantage over both Lorenzo - winner of the last two races - and team-mate Pedrosa with five rounds to go.

The top ten riders after FP3 (combined times) receive direct access to the second and final part of this afternoon's qualifying session. However the tricky conditions meant those outside the top ten on Friday had no chance to improve their situation.

Manufacturer riders Andrea Iannone (eleventh), Smith (13th) and Yonny Hernandez (14th) will thus join the CRTs in fighting for a top-two position in Q1, while leading privateer Espargaro heads straight to Q2 after setting the ninth fastest Friday time.

Hernandez has joined Pramac Ducati in place of the injured Ben Spies from this weekend, with Damian Cudlin taking over from Hernandez at PBM and World Supersport-ace Scassa replacing the injured Karel Abraham at Cardion AB.

Free Practice 3:
1. Valentino Rossi
2. Alvaro Bautista
3. Nicky Hayden
4. Aleix Espargaro
5. Bradley Smith
6. Hiroshi Aoyama
7. Andrea Iannone
8. Yonny Hernandez
9. Danilo Petrucci
10. Luca Scassa
11. Claudio Corti
12. Bryan Staring
13. Randy De Puniet
14. Michael Laverty
15. Hector Barbera
16. Colin Edwards
17. Lukas Pesek
18. Andrea Dovizioso
Stefan Bradl
Dani Pedrosa
Cal Crutchlow
Damian Cudlin
Marc Marquez
Jorge Lorenzo